Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! It is the perfect balance of sweet/spicy and makes a great background for whatever you want to pair it with. I also used applesauce, but used Splenda, rather than brown sugar. The one addition I made was 1/4 tsp of cayenne. It was not hot, but just warmed it up a little. I baked this in a jelly roll pan and made a torte of it, using a sweetened cream cheese between the layers, alternating orange zest and chopped dried cranberries. It is AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVAPEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Amazing, and I followed the 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup applesauce. The cake was so full of flavor and moist. The *First cake I made didn't rise and I noticed this about halfway through the baking - it was then that I realized I never added the baking soda! I let it finish cooking and although it came out half the size, the flavor was fabulous. I'm going to use it in my 'pumpkin muffin stuffin'. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is so yummy! I made it in mini bunts and cupcakes and I only took 20 mins for the mini bundt. I was also out of cloves and nutmeg, so I doubled the other spices and it was still delish! It was a huge hit in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Allspice is not actually comprised of separate spices. It is a plant entirely in itself and does add a difference to recipes. But, it can be substitued with a collection of the spices cited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
this cake was yummy but imine stuck to the bunt pan. I will use a regular cake pan next time. I also used fresh pumpkin instead of canned its better and better for you. as a rule you should always use fresh instead of canned!The taste was great! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RMart
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Incredibly tasty, very moist and aromatic. I tested this cake to see if it was a viable option for Thanksgiving and now am certain that the extended family will be very impressed! I didn't add icing or decoration this time around, but the cake stands well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wonderfullymoist flavorful cake. I used 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c unsweetended applesauce. In addition to the nuts, I added 1/2 c dried cranberries. Everyone in the house gave it 5 stars. Sending some to my daughter at college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars, mainly because of all of the great compliments that I received! I reduced the cloves by a little bit & they were still way too strong in the mix. I didn't have allspice, I don't know if that would've made a difference........and I was sort of annoyed that the cake didn't taste a whole lot like Pumpkin to me. In saying that, I got rave reviews about it, even an applause at the Bday party I brought it to! It kind of reminded me of Carrot cake in a way, especially the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was really good! I had no problem getting it out of the bundt pan. The only change I made was to the pan. I greased the bundt pan with butter then instead of flour, used granulated sugar. The sugar gave the outside crust a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
made this one a couple of times already and everybody loves it!!!! I put a cream cheese frosting piped on top, and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States