Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Really good cakeness. Reducing the white sugar to 1 cup and adding 2/3 cup brown sugar was a great suggestion. Whole wheat party flour worked great and I left out the walnuts. I forgot the salt, so I just added some to the glaze, which turned out really well. So moist and delicious,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This was a good hefty cake. I added more spice and it wasn't ruined. I also added some miniature chocolate chips. Turned out good. Will definitely make again as you could play with alot of combinations on this one, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
mushy consistency. needs more flavor-- more spices? after freezing and thawing, and adding a mollasses glaze, gets rave reviews. people think itt astes like pumpkin pie. my changes: * replaced oil with apple sauce * replaced 1 c. of flour with whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I made this for my husband's birthday party, and it was a hit, even with little kids, and I was worried about the amount of spice being too much for people, especially kids. I used half natural, unsweetened apple sauce and half oil, and it was plenty moist--no problem with dryness. I was really scared of the amount of spices, but it is a really good, full, robust taste and I'm glad I didn't cut back. I made this in a 9x13 pan, and it was a pretty deep cake; I also found I didn't have to bake the cake for nearly as long as the directions state (probably due to using a 9x13 instead of a tube pan). I topped it with the allspice cream cheese frosting from this site, and it was also really good. The cake is very filling and dense, so you will probably want to cut smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This cake is really good, although the second time I made it, I upped the salt to 1 TSP. I also added some cardamom and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
LOVED this bundt cake!! It was easy to remove from my pan using the PAM with flour spray. (I made mine substituting applesauce for oil). I usually insist on an icing with cake but this was so good I didn't stop after the first trial bite before making the glaze. Instead of the glaze though, I used a cream cheese frosting I had and loved it as did the family, I highly recommend trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I just got back from my Easter dinner and everyone just loved this! Including me! The only thing I changed was that I didnt use the cloves or allspice, only b/c i didnt have any, so i just added 2tsp of cinn. and 1.5tsp of nutmeg. It was so moist and was a good simple dessert with just some powdered sugar on top. Although my dad said it could use some cool whip. I will most definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCITTI45

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I love this cake. It is so good! I also added 1 tsp of ground ginger. Adds a little more flavor to it! We now make it the night before Thanksgiving (while everyone is anxiously waiting for the Thanksgiving dinner) this cake will please them. Give it a try! This is good with cream cheese frosting. Also great with mini chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
this cake is excellent! i added 3/4 cup golden raisins (soaked in 1 c boiling water and drained) with the nuts. also, i glazed the cake with 1 cup powdered sugar mixed with 4 teaspoons orange juice. perfect! remember, if you have a dark nonstick pan, watch your baking time - it will be slightly less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States