Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
It was good I cut the sugar also, but I forgot the tip that it gets mushy if sealed. otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.j. Haas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
It's spring cleaning time, and today the pantry was on my list. I found a can of pumpkin a week from expiring. Even though spring in Florida means temps in the 80's, when I saw that can of pumpkin, I just started craving something that tasted of autumn and reminded me of cooler temps. I made this recipe pretty much as-is, I just substituted pumpkin pie spice for all the spices listed, as that is what I always have on hand. This cake is so moist and flavorful! The pumpkin flavor really comes through. I glazed it with a maple syrup/powdered sugar mixture, maple and pumpkin are just so good together! I only have one small criticism, the cake itself, without the glaze, is a little on the too sweet side. It won't stop us from eating it though, it's really that good and nearly close to perfect! Next time though, I will cut back on the sugar a bit(1/2 cup maybe?) especially if I frost/glaze it. Thanks so much for the recipe and a taste of autumn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is my go-to pumpkin cake recipe - it's moist and perfect. It does great for cupcakes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
5 stars with my slight modifications. 3-4 stars as is. First, too much oil. I reduced to 2/3c and added an extra 1/4c of pumpkin. Also, I reduced the sugar slightly to 2 1/4c. Lastly, I did not have cloves so we went on without. This cake was fabulous! Moist, dense, perfect pumpkin/spice flavor. I topped with a cinnamon cheesecake frosting from another recipe on this site. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I also made mine out of two bundt cakes and stacked them to look like a pumpkin. Due to the hole in the middle of the bundt cake I threw some pumpkin spice m&ms in the middle hole to be the same height of the cake. Then I took some of the cake I had cut off to make it even for stacking, put it on top of the candy, and had a stem. I used cream cheese frosting dyed orange for the pumpkin and green for the stem. It was awesome and so easy! The cake also tasted really good. I typically am not a huge pumpkin fan (except in my coffee drinks) but thought this was great. It was extremely moist. If I make it again I'll leave it as just a bundt cake with a glaze as you really don't need the frosting. I also didn't have all the spices on hand so I substituted an undetermined amount of pumpkin pie spice instead and added a pinch of extra cinnamon. I'm confident though the cake would have turned out better had I been able to follow the recommended amounts. Refreshing to find a good recipe that doesn't need alterations to be 5 stars on All recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My daughter made this as a bundt cake for Thanksgiving and she did a great job! This cake was moist and very flavorful. She did omit the cloves and nuts. She also added a Simple Orange Glaze from this site which really gave this pumpkin cake another element. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
AMAZING! My family and friends loved this recipe! It turned out very moist and flavorful. I doubled the recipe to make a 14 inch cake and it did the job! I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves pumpking flavored cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have made this recipe three times already for my family and plan to make it again for Thanksgiving. We love it! I did 1/2 c. of cinnamon applesauce and 1/2 c. of oil instead of 1 c. of oil. I also used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg instead of 1 tsp. because I had some really strong nutmeg from my food coop. I also left out the nuts because of my daughter's nut allergy. If you like spice cake and pumpkin pie, this bundt cake is the perfect choice for you! We like it served with a little whipped cream on top ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Yummy! Made 12 cupcakes and one 9 inch round. 22 min at 350 was perfect for the cupcakes. Frosted with cream cheese frosting and put a candy corn on each one. Super easy and cute treat for our Harvest Cake walk at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is the most moist, flavorful, pumpkin cake I have ever tasted. I made this cake for a co-worker who loves pumpkin anything for her birthday in March.....it was a huge hit...so moist and flavorful. In June I took it to a family reunion and it was the first dessert to go. The only think I did differently was make a "light" cream cheese frosting with 8 oz reduced fat cream cheese, 1 large pkg of instant vanilla pudding mix, 1 cup milk, 1 tsp vanilla and 7 oz reduced fat whipped topping (Cool Whip). Both times I served the icing on the side and people just put a dollop on top of their slice if they wanted it. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Why mess with a great recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States