Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Good. More like pumpkin bread. I used half oil/ half applesauce to cut the fat down. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake was phenomenal, and perfect for using up leftover pumpkin puree! I made the following changes: Cut oil in half and subbed in additional 1/2 cup pumpkin puree (for a total of 2 1/2 cups...slightly more than called for); Cut down sugar to 1 cup white, 2/3 cup brown; Added 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/4 tsp ground ginger; Omitted cloves, allspice, and walnuts. This recipe was easy and fun to make (I didn't even need to break out the hand mixer...just used two forks). I agree with other reviews that it is somewhat like a pumpkin bread in texture...but a delicious, moist bread at that! I did not find this cake to be too dense or sweet. It is lighter than bread, with subtle, delicious flavor, and best served plain; I think any frosting would be too overpowering. I baked this in a flexible silicon bundt pan, lightly spritzed with nonstick cooking spray, for about 1 hr 15 min. I HIGHLY recommend the silicon pan because its flexibility prevents the cake from flaking off or sticking to the sides when removing. I believe that this recipe is impossible to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I made this recipe using 2 - 9" Round Cake Pans and frosted with (Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting) from this web site. What a great recipe, our grand children loved it, even the picky 4 year old. Our thanks goes out to D. Adams. Iota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Doubled recipe and used 2 cups wheat flour, 1/3 cup each oat bran, wheat bran, and wheat germ. Last 2 cups of flour was the regular white stuff. I also used canola oil. Turned out Great! I added 1 cup rasins and wish I had omitted the nuts as I'm not a big fan of them in cake. Baked in two 9x13 pans for 35min. Topped with cream cheese frosting. Very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is the first time I wanted to write a review . . . probably because it is the best recipe I have come across in years! I followed this recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. I did bake it in a 9x13 for 40 minutes and then frosted with cream cheese frosting. Wonderful - will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Cake very moist-my husband said that it tasted like pumpkin bread. I left out the oil and substituted 1 C of melted butter and it turned out just fine. I also left out any glaze-seemed good enough on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANELIM
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Simply love it, soft and moist as suggested! I cut down the sugar to 2 cups and omitted the allspice and walnuts, turned out just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANELIM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I liked this cake, but I thought that the spices were off. Too much clove - it was overpowering. Next time I would eliminate the allspice, cut the clove in half, put in more cinnamon and a bit of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Very moist and dense. I used apple sauce for the oil and 3/4 c. egg substitute. One cup each of granulated and brown sugar is sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out wonderfully moist. However, the spices were a bit overpowering for me. This cake is perfect for those who prefer a nice, strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States