Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! What a wonderful dessert for Fall! I added chocolate chips, which are a nice complement. I really like the presentation of the bundt pan for this cake. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was fantastic! I did use 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce and decreased oil by 1/2 cup. I added a cup of chocolate chips and topped it with cream cheese frosting. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyCF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IronChefHarvey
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Great tasting, moist cake. The spices really come through. I would recommend cream cheese frosting as a fantastic compliment. The best part though is the presentation. Make 2 bundt cakes, flip one over on top of the other and frost to look like a full 3D pumpkin. It will feed a crowd and they will love it. I made one for an office Halloween party and it is now legendary - The Great Pumpkin cake! I am making it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
So good. I reduced the sugar as well and used applesauce for 1/4c of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Fantastic fall cake. I replaced the oil completely with applesauce and used a little (maybe 1/4 cup) less sugar than called for. Probably would have been good with just 2 cups of sugar. I also replaced the flour with sorghum flour (gluten free) which worked just fine. The blend of spices was delicious, especially as I am a big fan of fall spices. I whipped up a little cream cheese glaze to drizzle over it which turned out okay. It didn't add much of a cream cheese taste, just sugary, but it looked nice. Roommates liked this cake a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lumberjole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yummy yummy all I changed was I added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Really really good. I replaced half of the oil with applesauce and doubled up on the spices. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very moist. Delicious. (And I don't like pumpkin!) I only made a few substitutions: used a cup of applesauce instead of the oil, the equivalency of egg substitute for the eggs, and 2 tsp allspice instead of 1 allspice and 1 cloves (I didn't have any cloves). I would love to try it with chopped nuts next time. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was a good recipe. I didn't add the nuts. The cake was very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wow! Great cake, or bread if you want to bake it in loaf pans. I don't like to change recipes that are submitted too often, but I did change a couple of things. I don't like cloves or nutmeg, so I add two teaspoons cinnamon and 1 teaspoon allspice for the spices. Did I mention I like cinnamon? I only had canola oil and I think it comes out moister with it. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!I've made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States