Pumpkin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
WOW! I just whipped this cake up in the midst of making dinner & lunches, supervising homework, doing laundry, and it couldn't have been easier! I just dumped everything into a bowl at once and mixed it up (I did make two changes - I decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups and replaced half the oil with applesauce.) IT'S SO GOOD!! I did not use nuts, as I knew my kids wouldn't like them, but I can tell nuts would have made it even better! I've gotta go have another piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
It was just a little too moist. Make sure to cook it for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Fabulous. Got so so many compliments. Definitely a keeper. So moist. Just pefect. Left the recipe just as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelle Malillo Maggio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this following a few suggestions from other reviews: 1/2 c. oil & 1/2 c. applesauce; split the sugar to 1/2 brown and 1/2 white, and added 1 tsp. baking powder. It's very good and moist, better the next day than fresh out of the oven. First time I made it was with orange cream cheese frosting and the second time just a powdered sugar glaze. It's a matter of preference if you like the orange flavor. I think I will cut back slightly on the cloves; I think they overpower the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I've made this twice and everyone loved it both times. I used half the oil, as someone else recommended, and it was still plenty moist. The other change I made was, I used 4 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice instead of the four separate spices. I frosted it (with cream cheese frosting the first time) and the second time I added about a cup of mini chocolate chips and just dusted it with confectioner's sugar. The cake is so yummy, it doesn't need frosting. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This cake was very moist and tasty! My husband loved it, and he's not very big on pumpkin. I didn't have applesauce to use instead of the oil, but I will try that suggestion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe is so excellent,I made this cake a few times already and even one for a good friend and she loved it, its so moist! With her cake i didn't add the nuts as she doesn't likethem and she still raved about it,I add the nuts to mine and sometimes I just dust the cake with powdered sugar. My sons also love it when I add mini chocolate chips to it too,no matter what this is just super excellent and I will be making it many times over!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Yummy, made it last night, brought it into work today. All my co-workers loved it. I followed recipes to the tee, w/ the exception of I left out the cloves. (which I didn't have on hand) I don't think it made any difference. Very moist and festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I just made this beauty yesterday and it's delicious! Very easy to make and extremely moist finish. I was concerned the cloves would be too much, but it's not overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made this cake in 25 muffins and they were de-vine. They were perfect after 20 minutes and got a nice chewy crust on top. The inside is moist and had a great texture and crumb. These are so flavorful they really don't even need frosting, but I put some cream cheese frosting on them anyways and they were awesome. I will use this reicpe a lot this fall for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States