Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used approx. 4 cups of fresh pumpkin that I roasted and processed. I cut down the sugar amount, and used only 1/2 cup, and added 2 tablespoons of real maple syrup. I used about 1 1/2 cups of apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I will add more sugar next time, and again make with orange juice because I like the harvest flavor from adding cranberries and orange juice. A very good recipe with wonderful consistency. I used fresh pumpkin from the garden :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Not a bad recipe.... I feel there is too much ground ginger in it and will only use half next time. It is good though. In fact I think I'm going to make a double batch up and give as Christmas gifts to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Really easy, very tasty. I tripled the recipe since I had a number of pie pumpkins to use. I roasted them till the flesh was soft, them puréed the roasted flesh. I measured it and had about 5.5 lbs of purée. I used apple cider instead of juice since that was what I had on hand. I did cut back a bit on the ginger since my kids are not big fans. This is a really forgiving recipe, adjust spices to your taste. Absolutely lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made the pumpkin butter for the first time today using canned pumpkin, 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar (to recued the amount of calories), 3/4 apple cider, (I reduced all the spices after reading all of the reviews)3 cinnamon sticks (instead of ground cinnamon), 1/4 tsp of ginger, 1/8 tsp each of cloves and allspice, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Even warm it tasted delicious. I can't wait until it is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made half a recipe and a lot of changes but we love the result. I've wasted lots of apples in the past when I made apple butter & we thought it was way over spiced so this time I was honestly, a little scared of all the spices. For 1/2 a recipe, I used 1c applesauce in place of the apple juice, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp ginger. I didn't add any cloves or nutmeg. I wanted to rate this because it's a good recipe that you can easily alter to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
this recipe is quick and easy. but i have made some ajustments. i used 15 oz canned pumpkin, 1/2 c spiced apple cider from Trader Joes, 2 teaspoons of pumpkin spice from Trader Joes and 3/4 cup brown sugar. it made it all the more simple. i cooked it for about 30 mins. now its cooling in my fridge. can't wait to taste the final product tomorrow. (p.s. next time i think im only gonna do about 1/2 brown sugar) good luck all and thank you Eleanor for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is amazing. I did cup the sugar down to only 3/4 cup sugar. I also roasted my own pumpkin and used that. I cut the ginger down to 1 teaspoon and it still seemed very gingery. Next time I might cut that down. Instead of ground cloves i used 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I can't wait to share this with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The ginger was WAAAAAAYYYYYYY too much! It was so overpowering that I did not feel well after initially tasting it. I used fresh pumpkin, and then kept adding stuff to dilute the ginger taste - a can of butternut squash puree, more apple juice, etc. In the end, I ended up with a lot of mediocre pumpkin butter. I think this would have been good with about 1/2 tsp. of ginger instead of 2 tsp. (And, I LIKE ginger....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
After doubling this recipe and canning it for gifts, I used what didn't make it into jars to make a pumpkin syrup by boiling a few big spoon fulls with equal parts water and sugar and straining out the left over pulp. Now I use it to make pumpkin lattes and flavored drinks :) The recipe is a great way to get into the fall swing of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States