Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I did make some substitutions though. Instead of white sugar, I used brown sugar. I also used apple cider instead of apple juice. A great recipe to make any time of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Very good! I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the separate ingredients. Next time I will use less apple juice and less sugar -- it is very sweet with a tangy aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristenFreeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I just made this recipe tonight and I thought the spices were way too overpowering. I ended up throwing out my first batch and I'm working on a second one. I think I'll start by adding 1/4 of the amount called for and then add more to taste after that. My husband and I thought it was way too spicy and not good at all with the amounts listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe the first time using pumpkin spice, 1 cup sugar, and regular apple juice. Although it tasted all right it was missing a "punch" and the tangy aftertaste from the AJ was too much. I tried it a second time and used separate spices, low-acid apple juice, and 1-1/4 sugar. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used apple cider instead of apple juice, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, added 1 tsp. vanilla, about 10 caramels, and for the spices i used allspice, cinnamon and a little nutmeg but that was it. I've made pumpkin butter several times for people and i like it this way the best so far:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinlea82
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Divine and something that will be made every autumn in my kitchen. I cut the ginger back a little but that was the only deviation from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacecoaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made the pumpkin butter to put into the "Pumpkin pecan cheesecake" recipe that this author also listed. If you are making the pumpkin butter for the cheesecake recipe, it is great - don't change a thing!!! But I found that this pumpkin butter just by itself is WAY too strong - much too sweet, and the spices are overwhelming. My husband came home from work while I was making this and he said the spices were so strong it made his eyes water! Just a warning - add sugar and spices a little at a time until it suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
i made this for a pumpkin cheesecake and the butter by itself was absoultely fantastic! i was completey suprised by how good it was by itself. will definatly use this recipe again! I even used some leftovers in my french toast batter and it gave it a lovely taste. would recommand to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Yum! Just got done making this, and it tastes fabulous! 2 changes: dropped the sugar to just over 1 c. & added a splash more apple juice. Cook time was right on, be sure to stir every minute or so. I love the spicy taste of it, the ginger really came through and it smells like pie. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States