Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I made a double batch of this tonight and it was simple and delicious. I did, however, add about double the amount of apple cider. The recipe says to cook and allow to THICKEN, but I felt it was too thick before I even began to cook it. I desired my pumpkin butter to end up about the consistency of apple butter, which is why I added the extra liquid. Just adjust your consistency according to your liking and it will turn out perfectly. I had it on buttered toast and it was divine and perfect for Fall. I have canned it (6 full pint jars with a double recipe) and will be decorating the jars with fabric, labels, and raffia tomorrow for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
684 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Apparently there are questions if pumpkin butter is safe to home can. Check out the page from the University of Georgia Extension Office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
451 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Yummy recipe! Easy to make, but requires a little canning know-how. Mixture is thick so cooking is very splattery. I recommend stirring nearly constantly. Also, I found it very helpful to stir and mix with a wire whisk instead of a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Absolutly wonderful! I used canned organic pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice and *no* added sugar except for a drizzle (about 1tablespoon) of real maple syrup and a few shakes of stevia powder (a natural safe sweetner); it came out sweet enough...I can't imagine adding the 1.5 cups of sugar the recipe calls for, totally un-needed. I did use about 1 cup of apple juice rather than the 3/4 C recommended as I like it a bit less thick. Put it in my crockpot and then canned after hot water bath. Would totally recommend to anyone, completely yummy and super easy to make. We love it on toast and on whole wheat buttermilk pancakes instead of maple syrup for a nice change and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! I doubled the batch and used my crockpot instead of the stove. I also used fresh pumpkin and pureed it in my food processor. The result was some beautiful and tasty gifts for my family and friends. Will definitely be making more soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
This is a great recipe my daughter made it for 4-H. We made canned and fresh pumpkin that we cooked down. The only compaint she received was that it was too sweet. It is a little on the sweet side ....the next time we make it we will reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
We love this recipe! Our son has a peanut allergie. We had to look for a repacement for pbj sandwhiches most kids eat. Our son loves pumpkin sandwhiches. He takes them to school with him. We put it on buttered toast, mix into a vanilla shake and make a pumpkin shake! Mix into 1/2 gallon of vanilla ice cream and refreeze and make pumpkin ice cream. Use as spreads for snack breads, Or fillings inbetween cake layers and frost cake with whipping cream Or cream cheese frosting. Poke a hole in cup cakes and use this as a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Ok, first off, I experimented with a few things and the results were good lessons learned. I used 1 cup of light brown sugar instead, I like it better and it suited my taste. If you take the innards of the pumpkin and puree it in a blender, the recipe is great the way it is since the pumpkin balances out the ginger. For my next batch; however, I boiled the pumpkin meat and then pureed it, thus taking some of the taste away, and with this I found that the amount of ginger was too much. The taste was a little over powering. To resolve this, I just halved the ginger, but then again I spice to taste so there is a little more of the other spices in there too. All in all, I am very pleased with this recipe and intend on using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This pumpkin butter is easy, yummy and verstile!Use it to make Pumpkin Pecan Ice cream! Just mix it in to butter pecan ice cream and you won't be able to put down the carton! Or warm up and pour over some vanilla for a pumpkin pie ala mode! Lastly, create a panini with cream cheese or any mild cheese, apples slices, turkey and pumpkin butter! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I used 20 oz of fresh pureed pumpkin instead of canned and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States