Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wow, this is really good! I made it for the "Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecake" recipe on this site. I scaled it down so I would have just enough for that recipe, plus a little extra leftover. I used 10 oz. pumpkin (2/3 of a 15 oz. can), 1/4 cup apple juice, 1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp. sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/8 tsp. cloves. I did modify the proportions of the spices to suite my tastes. This resulted in about 1 cup of pumpkin butter. I'm glad I had some left over after making the cheesecake! It is delicious on toast with a cup of tea. (I didn't have any apple juice, but I did have packets of instant apple cider, so I just mixed up a cup and used that - worked great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made a few modifications based on reviews such as using less sugar (I used 1/2 C of white sugar, 1/2 C of brown), I used apple cider instead of apple juice. Next time I will cut back on the clove because the recipe calls for too much. It give it's a bite and 'clovey' aftertaste. If you cut back on the cloves, you'll have a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This turned out really good! I cut the cloves down to 1/4 t- personal preference. I served it with biscuits and it was a hit with kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I was so tired of paying a lot of money for small jars of pumpkin butter, so decided to try this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and had it on my bread and in my oatmeal this morning. It was fabulous! Much better than what comes in the store and is so easy to make. I'll definately make this over and over and am even going to make it to can for gift giving throughout the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Never tasted pumpkin butter before so i really didn't know what to expect. But it turned out pretty good. I added a little bit more apple juice since it was pretty thick to begin with. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T. I've heard mixing pumpkin butter with cream cheese tastes really great (sounds way awesome!), so I'm gonna try that. I bet it's gonna be delicious on bagels:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Wonderful! This was my first time trying pumpkin butter (silly me) and it was so good! I only made one change which was to use brown sugar and cut it way down to about 2 Tbsp. I put it on a pork tenderloin that I crusted with pumpkin pie spice, salt, and pepper. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhSoMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
i made 5 batches....so far! love this. my friends love this! neighbors love this! i give it as gifts or just because. I get asked for more quite often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I cut the spices in half all the way around on the second batch. The first batch seemed almost bitter to me and didnt have a great pumpkin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff and Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I used a 30 oz. can of Pumpkin Pie mix and juiced a large red apple. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabluejungle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States