Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is amazing. I did cup the sugar down to only 3/4 cup sugar. I also roasted my own pumpkin and used that. I cut the ginger down to 1 teaspoon and it still seemed very gingery. Next time I might cut that down. Instead of ground cloves i used 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I can't wait to share this with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The ginger was WAAAAAAYYYYYYY too much! It was so overpowering that I did not feel well after initially tasting it. I used fresh pumpkin, and then kept adding stuff to dilute the ginger taste - a can of butternut squash puree, more apple juice, etc. In the end, I ended up with a lot of mediocre pumpkin butter. I think this would have been good with about 1/2 tsp. of ginger instead of 2 tsp. (And, I LIKE ginger....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
After doubling this recipe and canning it for gifts, I used what didn't make it into jars to make a pumpkin syrup by boiling a few big spoon fulls with equal parts water and sugar and straining out the left over pulp. Now I use it to make pumpkin lattes and flavored drinks :) The recipe is a great way to get into the fall swing of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Scaled by half but reduced sugar to 1/2 cup, just right. Will be adding this to steel cut oats for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe scaled nicely to use up the remaining 4oz of canned pumpkin i had after baking pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is excellent! We grow and can most of what we eat so I'm always looking for ways to use our produce. This pumpkin butter is excellent 'canned' for gifts as well as future use. This past Thanksgiving & Christmas we gave quite a few as gifts and everyone loved the flavor. Additionally, I loved the ease in cooking and 'putting up.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great stuff, with a flexible recipe! I made a few modifications, starting with cooked pumpkin instead of canned. I didn't feel like buying apple juice, so I used the juice from a can of pineapple rings in 100% juice. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and accidentally added 1 tsp of cloves instead of 1\2--I don't recommend following my example there--and both flavors turned or pretty strong, so I added the rest of the cooked pumpkin I had on hand. I'm looking forward to enjoying this on toast, crepes, mixing with yogurt, and maybe even as a muffin filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is a really good recipe, the only change I made was using splenda backing mix instead of sugar to cut down on the calories. It turned out very nice. Great on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe turned out great! It was very easy and cheap and made excellent gifts after I canned it in jars and added a pretty ribbon around it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this was the most incredible holiday yummy for our family and friends! It even won third in a family pumking cookoff. My 9 year old daughter made this with no help it was that simple...and then i jumped in to can it. We can't keep enough of this around...we'll make this all year long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States