Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe as it's so easy and no fuss to make, but I did find the spiciness from the cloves not to my liking so would adjust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used approx. 4 cups of fresh pumpkin that I roasted and processed. I cut down the sugar amount, and used only 1/2 cup, and added 2 tablespoons of real maple syrup. I used about 1 1/2 cups of apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I will add more sugar next time, and again make with orange juice because I like the harvest flavor from adding cranberries and orange juice. A very good recipe with wonderful consistency. I used fresh pumpkin from the garden :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Not a bad recipe.... I feel there is too much ground ginger in it and will only use half next time. It is good though. In fact I think I'm going to make a double batch up and give as Christmas gifts to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Really easy, very tasty. I tripled the recipe since I had a number of pie pumpkins to use. I roasted them till the flesh was soft, them puréed the roasted flesh. I measured it and had about 5.5 lbs of purée. I used apple cider instead of juice since that was what I had on hand. I did cut back a bit on the ginger since my kids are not big fans. This is a really forgiving recipe, adjust spices to your taste. Absolutely lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made the pumpkin butter for the first time today using canned pumpkin, 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar (to recued the amount of calories), 3/4 apple cider, (I reduced all the spices after reading all of the reviews)3 cinnamon sticks (instead of ground cinnamon), 1/4 tsp of ginger, 1/8 tsp each of cloves and allspice, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Even warm it tasted delicious. I can't wait until it is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made half a recipe and a lot of changes but we love the result. I've wasted lots of apples in the past when I made apple butter & we thought it was way over spiced so this time I was honestly, a little scared of all the spices. For 1/2 a recipe, I used 1c applesauce in place of the apple juice, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp ginger. I didn't add any cloves or nutmeg. I wanted to rate this because it's a good recipe that you can easily alter to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
this recipe is quick and easy. but i have made some ajustments. i used 15 oz canned pumpkin, 1/2 c spiced apple cider from Trader Joes, 2 teaspoons of pumpkin spice from Trader Joes and 3/4 cup brown sugar. it made it all the more simple. i cooked it for about 30 mins. now its cooling in my fridge. can't wait to taste the final product tomorrow. (p.s. next time i think im only gonna do about 1/2 brown sugar) good luck all and thank you Eleanor for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is amazing. I did cup the sugar down to only 3/4 cup sugar. I also roasted my own pumpkin and used that. I cut the ginger down to 1 teaspoon and it still seemed very gingery. Next time I might cut that down. Instead of ground cloves i used 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I can't wait to share this with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The ginger was WAAAAAAYYYYYYY too much! It was so overpowering that I did not feel well after initially tasting it. I used fresh pumpkin, and then kept adding stuff to dilute the ginger taste - a can of butternut squash puree, more apple juice, etc. In the end, I ended up with a lot of mediocre pumpkin butter. I think this would have been good with about 1/2 tsp. of ginger instead of 2 tsp. (And, I LIKE ginger....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States