Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made the pumpkin butter for the first time today using canned pumpkin, 1/2 cup of Splenda brown sugar (to recued the amount of calories), 3/4 apple cider, (I reduced all the spices after reading all of the reviews)3 cinnamon sticks (instead of ground cinnamon), 1/4 tsp of ginger, 1/8 tsp each of cloves and allspice, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Even warm it tasted delicious. I can't wait until it is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I made half a recipe and a lot of changes but we love the result. I've wasted lots of apples in the past when I made apple butter & we thought it was way over spiced so this time I was honestly, a little scared of all the spices. For 1/2 a recipe, I used 1c applesauce in place of the apple juice, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp ginger. I didn't add any cloves or nutmeg. I wanted to rate this because it's a good recipe that you can easily alter to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
this recipe is quick and easy. but i have made some ajustments. i used 15 oz canned pumpkin, 1/2 c spiced apple cider from Trader Joes, 2 teaspoons of pumpkin spice from Trader Joes and 3/4 cup brown sugar. it made it all the more simple. i cooked it for about 30 mins. now its cooling in my fridge. can't wait to taste the final product tomorrow. (p.s. next time i think im only gonna do about 1/2 brown sugar) good luck all and thank you Eleanor for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is amazing. I did cup the sugar down to only 3/4 cup sugar. I also roasted my own pumpkin and used that. I cut the ginger down to 1 teaspoon and it still seemed very gingery. Next time I might cut that down. Instead of ground cloves i used 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. I can't wait to share this with my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
The ginger was WAAAAAAYYYYYYY too much! It was so overpowering that I did not feel well after initially tasting it. I used fresh pumpkin, and then kept adding stuff to dilute the ginger taste - a can of butternut squash puree, more apple juice, etc. In the end, I ended up with a lot of mediocre pumpkin butter. I think this would have been good with about 1/2 tsp. of ginger instead of 2 tsp. (And, I LIKE ginger....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
After doubling this recipe and canning it for gifts, I used what didn't make it into jars to make a pumpkin syrup by boiling a few big spoon fulls with equal parts water and sugar and straining out the left over pulp. Now I use it to make pumpkin lattes and flavored drinks :) The recipe is a great way to get into the fall swing of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Scaled by half but reduced sugar to 1/2 cup, just right. Will be adding this to steel cut oats for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe scaled nicely to use up the remaining 4oz of canned pumpkin i had after baking pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is excellent! We grow and can most of what we eat so I'm always looking for ways to use our produce. This pumpkin butter is excellent 'canned' for gifts as well as future use. This past Thanksgiving & Christmas we gave quite a few as gifts and everyone loved the flavor. Additionally, I loved the ease in cooking and 'putting up.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great stuff, with a flexible recipe! I made a few modifications, starting with cooked pumpkin instead of canned. I didn't feel like buying apple juice, so I used the juice from a can of pineapple rings in 100% juice. I used 1 cup of brown sugar and accidentally added 1 tsp of cloves instead of 1\2--I don't recommend following my example there--and both flavors turned or pretty strong, so I added the rest of the cooked pumpkin I had on hand. I'm looking forward to enjoying this on toast, crepes, mixing with yogurt, and maybe even as a muffin filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States