Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made only a bit of modification. Other reviewers thought it was too sweet and too spicy so I added the spices in increments and a bit less sugar. I decided to make a double batch, but I only used the spices once. For the double batch, I used 1 c white and 1 c brown sugar. I will give some to my neighbors tomorrow for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I used fresh pumpkin - not sure if that made the difference. I found this recipe way too sweet. If I made it again, I would start with half the amount of sugar then add to taste. It was very spicy, which I like, but I'm not sure if others that I serve it to will. It was also very thick (again, not sure if this is because I strained my pumpkin when I cooked it). I had to add some extra cider and some water, and it is still very thick. Because of this, I didn't cook it very long. Not sure if I would try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My family really enjoys this recipe. I did decrease the sugar to one cup down from one and a half and I noticed no change in taste at all. I did try making it with water instead of apple juice once and I did notice a big change and not for the better. The apple juice really does make a positive difference. To avoid the splattering issues that others have had, I tried doing it in the microwave instead. Worked perfectly. I put it in a glass bowl with a loose covering. I cooked it for six minutes; stirred it; cooked for six more minutes; stirred it; cooked three more minutes and it was done. I have tried stove top and slow cooker, but the microwave method is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is the first time I have ever made pumpkin butter. The recipe itself is quite easy to prepare. My reason for only giving it 4 stars is because I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned. That being said, it was hard to measure exactly how much pumpkin was used in this recipe. The pumpkin itself was quite large so I upped the spices and sugar used. I substituted stevia and brown sugar for the white sugar. I roasted the pumpkin and ran it through a foley mill to make sure it was nice and smooth. I also pureed it in the blender. My biggest issue with this recipe was my inexperience with using fresh pumpkin. I wasn't sure how much of the liquid from them I should use and wound up adding in too much which gave it the consistency of applesauce. I sprinkled in some unflavored gelatin and incorporated it well into the mixture and it brought it together much better. The spices and sweetness were spot on and I was pleased with the results. The next time I make this I will be using canned pumpkin as the recipe suggests. The amount of effort, my inexperience, and the mess just isn't necessary. You know like they say, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it". In this case I totally agree. I will update this when I make it again. Give this recipe a try, I think you will be happy you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I used fresh pumpkin which was a bit too fibrous for this recipe! We don't have as much choice in the UK, but I would definitely used canned pumpkin next time. Also the amount of cloves gave it a bitter note, so I will cut these by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
agree with lovetomunch I accidentally added 1 1/2 cup of apple cider (not apple juice) and it was a great consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fearless Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
too sweet and too spicy (and I love spice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
One word of caution, pumpkin butter should never be canned to store on a shelf. The USDA has tested it and found it is too dense to safely can. It is not safe to can in a boiling water bath or a pressure canner. I would like to see a word of caution added to the recipe for all to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I had to add more apple juice and a quarter cup more sugar but it came out wonderful and made three jars for canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
The ginger comes through very strong, almost overpowering the pumpkin flavor. I would recommend cutting it to either one teaspoon or one half of a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States