Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have a question/concern. I've tried store-bought pumpkin butters in the past and wanted to make my own, but the USDA recommendation is to NOT can pureed pumpkin b/c the density and pH varies too much- which can lead to botulism. The advice from other canners seems to be to ALWAYS freeze or refrigerate pumpkin butters. Has anyone tried this recipe and stored it in the freezer (& fridge after opening)? Any comments on the safety of this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I love pumpking butter on toasted nutty bread. 4-6 hours in a slow cooker makes it easy and no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Just made a batch of this...DELICIOUS! I plan to give it to all my "adult" trick or treaters this year! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I tried to follow the recipe exactly (did not have apple juice so I had to use apple cider) and it turned out fantastic! A little on the 'spicy' side but my family all gave it a thumbs up and each took a jar home. Now we're all anxiously awaiting the day that I make the pumpkin pecan cheesecake. Thanks for the recipe, it'll be a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
yummm.... goes great on French Toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
We love this pumpkin butter, especially our six year old. Only change was no cloves as I didn't have any on hand. It was still the best! It made great Christmas presents, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this to give out as food gifts this year, along with French Bread, and I've gotten very good responses. I think I might adjust the sugar a bit, but I love the spices in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Fantastic! Great gift idea for fall! If you like pumpkin pie, you'll love this. I used apple cider instead of juice and substituted brown sugar for about 1/2 of the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Goodfellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Apparently there are questions if pumpkin butter is safe to home can. Check out the page from the University of Georgia Extension Office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
461 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States