Pumpkin Butter IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Does Pumpkin Butter have to be refrigerated after canning, or can it have a shelf life? Just getting into the adventures of canning and want to make this today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This did not make 2 quarts. More like 2.5 pints. I only used 3.5 cups of sugar, as I don't like it as sweet. Also added more pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made this recipe and found it to be very bitter and way to sweet. I plan to cute down the sugar but I don't know why it was so bitter. Could it be the pectin? maybe I didn't buy the right thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I made this so I can put on my sugar cookies. It camenout amazing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is so yummy! One of the best items I have ever preserved. I did as others suggested and used 1 cup of brown sugar and then just 2 cups of white sugar, total 3 cups. It is still very sweet. I will definitely make this again. I also used my own pumpkins that grew out of my compost pile as a surprise from throwing pumpkins seeds in the compost pile last October. Those seeds came from someone else's home-grown pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I love the idea of this, but it is way too sweet. I cut back on the sugar and it was still to sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I was in the mood to make use of the Jack O Lantern into a recipe. Instead of tossing it away, I made them for family and friends to give as gifts for the holidays and they turned out good. I added cloves and cinnamon for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious! I'd never had Pumpkin Butter before and it's quite tasty. I followed the recipe but substituted gelatin for the pectin (I was certain that was a box of Sure Jell!): I don't think it made difference. The texture is like apple butter and easily spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a great gift idea... made a few batches for my baby shower favors :) I followed the suggestions from the other reviewers (2 1/2 cups white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, extra 1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice) and my pectin said to boil for 2 minutes, so I boiled the mix an additional minute. The consistency was perfect and the flavor was fantastic!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. I took the advice of the reviewers and cut the sugar down to about 3 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I also added in half a can more of pumpkin and about 1/4 cup of homemade applesauce. It is so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States