Pumpkin Butter III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
This was delicious. It was almost like having pumpkin pie. Friends and family have asked me for this recipe because they loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I added a shake or two more of cinnamon than the recipe called for. Instead of doing on the stove, I brought to boil and put in a crock pot on high for 4 hours. Worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Twillmann Friedli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Not too sweet (which some may dislike). Simple to make, and pumpkin lovers will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
If you use the standard "halloween" pumpkin, use LOTS of spice! It's pretty bland....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I did not have very good luck with this recipe. I thought the apple overpowered the pumpkin. I kept adding spices and pumpkin until it didn't taste as much like applesauce. If I attempt pumpkin butter again, I will try a recipe that doesn't call for as much applesause/apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Great recipe. I had about 2.5 cups of fresh "pie pumpkin" and used that with the applesauce. I liked it a little more pumpkin-y than the original recipe. The other change I made was that I did not add the spice. My son has some food allergies and the pumpkin butter was for him. We used the final product in smoothies, on toast, and in pumpkin muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
What made this recipe different from the others was the use of BROWN sugar instead of white. I did it in a slow cooker on low overnight. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Very easy and delicious! I jarred it, decorated it, and gave it as Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hughson, California, USA
Living In: Hickman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This turned out very good - but wish it was a little more pumpkin tasting -- I agree with the apple taste overpowering the pumpkin -- I doubled the entire recipe -but only added 3/4 C of Apple Juice and 3/4 C water -and extra pumpkin pie spice. Next time I will substitue all of the apple juice with water -- WARNING - watch out -- this stuff "erupts" like Mt. Vesuvius -even when on the lowest my stove's burner will go! - it is like it is sending hot pumpkin lava into the air one burp at a time -- I think I will try the crock pot method next time! - Can't wait to serve it on our Christmas Brunch buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is an easy and delicious recipe. I agreed with Cindy that the apple taste was a bit overpowering; the second time I made it I used water instead of apple juice. This minor change allowed the pumpkin flavor to shine a little brighter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesuze84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States