Pumpkin Butter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I can't make enough, I get empty jars back for refills. This is a great recipe! I have also substituted brown sugar for some of the white, and to cut down the sweetness I have also reduced the sugar by 1/2 to 3/4 c and it still thickens just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DNickolson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
SO EASY! I used fresh pumpkin so I didn't measure anything. I just did it to taste. Because I ended up with what looked like more than 3 1/2 cups of puree, I used 2 gelatin packets. My little kids and husband think it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Easy recipe. I read reviews and decided to use 6 cups of pumkin puree, 3 cups of sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Very sweet. Tastes wonderful. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Good. I also used 1 cup of brown sugar and a total of 2 cups of white sugar and it was still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
this was really good. i reduced the sugar to 2 cups and it was still plenty sweet. i also made some for my dad with splenda and it was really good and diabetic friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I loved this recipe! It came out at just the right consistency. The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar. I used about a 1/2 cup less than this recipe called for. It's still plenty sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenncooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I have yet to make this recipe, but I have read SEVERAL reviews of many different pumpkin recipes where people are substituting fresh pumpkin. I would just like to remind everyone that the pumpkins you use for jack-o-lanterns have MUCH less flavor than the smaller sugar pumpkins, which are used specifically for cooking. Also remember, the larger the pumpkin, the more bland the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jefferson, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Never heard of pumpkin butter, but pounced on this recipe since I have a 26-lb pumpkin to use up. This is ok, but apple butter is much better. Definately cut the sugar in half-- that must be a typo because it's plenty sweet with just 2 1/4 cups, and I LIKE sweet. Will not make again. ADDED LATER: I found a solution to use up the pumpkin butter that I did not like. Substitute it cup for cup in pumpkin bread, but use less sugar and spices than what the bread recipe asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This recipe is terrific!! I had bought some pumkin butter at when it ran out, I thought I would have to order more online and have it shipped. I tried this recipe instead and it is every bit as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I'm a fanatic about trying new recipes for jams and jellies, so when I saw this recipe for pumpkin butter with such a great reviewer rating, I thought I hit the jackpot. You can't beat how easy it is to make, but I just thought it was way too sweet. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States