Pumpkin Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This recipe needed help. For one, it needs to use brown sugar, not white. It has way too much cloves. It's also missing ginger and nutmeg. I added some fresh ginger puree and also ground. I added freshly ground nutmeg as well. I had to boost the cinnamon also. Just use pumpkin pie spice and if you have none, use one of the two recipes here on the site. One uses all spice and one does not. Make sure you're using a "pie" or "sugar" pumpkin. A better way to cook the pumpkin, in my opinion, is to roast it. Wash it, slice off the stem, place it flat-side down (where you just cut off the stem), and slice in half. Gut it (save the seeds for roasted seeds!), and place it face down on a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment paper. Roast at 425 for about an hour, until the peel is wrinkly and loose. Cool slightly, and the peel just come right off. Then puree it in a food processer, blender, or push through a ricer. Then take that puree and make the butter. I also added butter to my recipe, which made it richer. A bit of vanilla extract brightens it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I love this as.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made my house smell AMAZING. The next time I make this, I'll add more sugar, as it wasn't quite sweet enough for our tastes. Although, that could be solved by using a smaller, sweeter pumpkin next time too. As it is, "next time" will be a long way off, since this makes a VAT-FULL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was great. I cooked in crock pot for 9 hours just because I didn't get to it right at 8 hours. I used pumpkin pie spice in place of all the other spices. I used mostly brown sugar with 1/4 cup white sugar. I also only used about 1/2 the sugar mixture to start then added some at end just to taste. Since I don't have an immersion blender, I blended in a bullet style blender just about a cup at a time so that it didn't explode from the heat when I removed the lid. It came out so creamy & I didn't have to blend it long to get it to the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe, but it is kind of thin, will it thicken or is there a way to fix it, without ruining the flavor cause it taste great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Super easy and delicious. Just a few minor changes based on the other reviews, used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar. 5lbs of pumpkin was a pretty large pumpkin. I used less spices at first and then added more later. I also canned using hot water bath for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Awesome & so easy. Has anyone packed & processed this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegsrecipes
Home Town: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel H Gudenzi
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Super easy, made the house smell wonderful and came out tasting delicious. I made so much that after making pumpkin bread and giving away a small jar, I still have a pint in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel H Gudenzi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used 2 tsp of cloves instead of the 1 Tbsp it called for, and it was still way too much. It needs a pinch of salt, another cup of sugar, preferably brown, and a little less cinnamon. This coming from someone who always adds more spices to things, and this was too much. However, the texture was fantastic. The recipe just needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Rotermund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States