Pumpkin Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
The pumpkin and chocolate combination is unique and works well together. I only used 7 T butter with 1/4 c plus 1 T applesauce in place of the rest of the butter. I also slightly decreased the nutmeg and cloves. This makes more of a snack cake or a cake-like brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Honestly, I did my best to screw up this recipe and it was still delicious! Just after putting my marbled brownies into the oven I saw the spices sitting on the counter and realized that I hadn't put them in (darned kids distracted me). I took them out of the oven, removed some batter, mixed the spices in and swirled the spiced batter back into the other batter. I didn't have much marbling at that point, but they tasted great and were incredibly moist. I will make these again, the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I thought this was fabulous although I did make a mistake on my first try because I was in a rush and needed to bake something for an office party for the next day as I almost mixed the cocoa powder in with the flour as you do for brownies. I scooped out as much as I could and went ahead and made it. It was a great hit with everyone and everyone asking for the recipe. I will agree though it is not exactly brownie like but more like snack cake. Very delicious though!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just made it again today as I have lots of pumpkin. Do not be afraid to try unless you don't care for pumpkin all that much like my husband. Don't care though all te more for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I wanted to try something different and since I love chocolate and pumpkin I decided on this recipe. It is to die for. I took the batch over to the flower shop where my Mom used to work and they said the same thing. They could not believe how good they were. I am making several batches to use for a fund raiser. They should sell quickly. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were delicious! I left out the cloves and of course substituted out some of the butter to make it healthier. I also used whole-wheat flour instead of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Super yummy! I'm not usually a fan of brownies, but I'm definitely a fan of these ones! Very moist. My husband who loves brownies thought they were very tasty too. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Wonderful rich brownies! And I'm not a fan of pumpkin sweets. I used 1/2 c butter plus 1/4 c applesauce, and 1 c sucanat plus 1/4 c white sugar, added 1 T of flaxseed meal to the main batter, and omitted the cloves. I also used slightly less than the required nutmeg b/c I grated in fresh nutmeg, which has a stronger flavor. I baked in mini and regular muffin cups to make "brownie bites." Sorry, didn't pay attention to time in muffin pans...just kept a close eye on the oven and watched for doneness. I'd say it was less than 20 mins for even the regular muffin size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Great original recipe! I was also skeptical about how it would turn out, but followed the directions exactly (with the addition of butterscotch chips) and it was excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These are so delicious! I even screwed up the recipe because I wasn't paying attention (added the flour after the chocolate and pumpkin, oops) and it STILL came out so delicious. Cut back on the butter by 1/3 also because I live at 5200 feet, and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Excellent Recipe! I followed the recipe as printed with two minor changes. I substituted ground ginger for the cloves, and used butterscotch chips along with the chocolate, omitting the walnuts. Very pleased with the result! These brownies are moist and full of flavor. They look great as well. A delicious fusion of pumpkin and chocolate. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States