Pumpkin Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is a delicious fall brownie. I admit I am partly responsible for authoring this recipe, but I don't think I've had a better brownie, and my girlfriend has made some serious brownies in the past. Using her already deliciously moist and dense brownie recipe as a base, the pumpkin component makes this easily the moistest baked good I've ever had. It's exactly what you'd get if a brownie and a slice of pumpkin pie had a baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CroqueMonsieur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! We love these. Followed the recipe, using canned organic pumpkin, mini chocolate chips and baked them in mini muffin tins. I used a small ice-cream scoop and just layered the two mixtures (did not swirl). The bake time was approx 23 min in my oven. At 18 minutes, I sprinkled additional mini choc chips and chopped walnuts on top and returned to the oven for the last 5 minutes. Perfect, delicious little bites that definately taste like autumn. By not swirling the two batters together, I think the pumpkin flavor really came through. Perfectly spiced, moist, and slightly dense. We really enjoyed these and will make them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These are incredible! I've made them 3 times since the end of October, and i am not usually a chocolate/brownie "person"...although i LOVE pumpkin desserts! The first time i made them i followed the directions exactly (except i omitted the walnuts and added ground ginger to the pumpkin half). When i added the cocoa to the the one half, it became sooo thick i could just barely spread it. And when i added the pumkin to the other half, it became very runny and there was TONS. Made the layering process a little tricky! HOWEVER they turned out absolutely amazing, if not a little cake-like. The next time i made them, i split the base batter unevenly so there was a little more batter for the chocolate half. Both halves were much easier to work with this way ( i added slightly more cocoa powder/pumpkin puree too.). In an emergency i had put them in the fridge to cool the second time i made them, and when i tried one it was MUCH chewier than the first batch which was a pleasant surprise! Maybe due to the cooling process? ANYway, these are one of the best desserts i've ever had, and one of the only things i've baked where i just can't seem to mess them up! A winner for sure ( And wonderful for impressing people ;-D ) !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Sooooo good!! I added a little less butter, a little more cocoa, half chocolate, half butterscotch chips, a little more of the spices, and reduced the cooking time to about 35-40 minutes and they were perrrfect-- Moist and rich and soo flavorful. Definitely try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
HELPFUL TIP: My oven tends to be a tad fast, but even so... I can't imagine using the full bake time!! Be sure to check on it. It only took mine 33 min to finish. Absolutely love these :) I do think adding a heaping amount cocoa powder is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I LOVED these brownies! I think next time I make them I might cut down on some of the butter because the pumpkin acts as a moistner as well so the brownies were a touch on the greasy side, but they were delicious none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
GREAT recipe. Flavors are perfect together. Only thing is (and many people mentioned this) that the chocolate batter is really thick while the pumpkin batter is thin. Not a problem except for spreading and swirling. I even put more "batter" in with the chocolate mixture, didn't help much. I ended up just doing chocolate on the bottom and pumpkin on top, swirled a little and poured a little caramel sauce over. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
My family loved these brownies and they now ask for them on a regular basis. I double the recipe and bake them in a 9x13 pan. Always moist and delicious! The only change I make is to use half the amount of cloves it calls for. Thanks for this unique recipe for brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlessedWithBoys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made these brownies for our church's food booth at a local pumpkin farm. They were the hit of the day. I took orders for more and had to bake them the following weeks for the sale again. Since some reviews stated it was too cakey, I used only 2 eggs instead of 3 and I used pumpkin pie spice in place of the 3 spices because that is what I had on hand. Each time I doubled the recipe for a 9x13 pan(so then I used 4 eggs and only used 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice). These brownies are scrumptious and so perfect for a fall dessert! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Yummy. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 only because my boys say they're a little too spicy (the clove I think). Nice quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States