Pumpkin Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
The way to know an excellent recipe is that you can alter it for health and it's still a winner. That was this recipe. I subbed out half the butter with a low saturated fat spread (Can't Believe Not Butter Light) and the other half with super-healthy chia gel (mix 1 tbsp ground chia seeds in water and let gel). I used 1 tsp organic stevia extract (NOW brand has no aftertaste) for half the sugar and I subbed in whole white wheat flour (not red wheat) and they still looked good, tasted very moist, and were a winner at church (where they usually only tolerate my healthy food :-). I even made a nut free batch for the priest (he's allergic) and it turned out very well too. I did lower the cloves (as I ran out) but that worked so I'll keep it at a "pinch" as they can be strong and are disliked by many. I also subbed with mini chocolate chips but the same amount (as that's all I had). Still the texture was awesome and *I* loved that I wasn't feeding them high calories nor something that would spike blood sugar (the lower sugar, nuts and whole wheat keep it from spiking). This is an EXCELLENT recipe! Thank you for sharing it. I will make it often - oh, and the leftovers froze well - tasted the same the following week when I served it again. Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
These were awesome!!!! Making them for the second time in a week!! My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These are fantastic! Based on the other reviews, I made 4 changes.. 1. I used 1/2c. butter 2. I used 1c. sugar 3. I used bittersweet chocolate chips 4. I used 2 eggs. Also, I used gluten free flour. Loved these! Would make them again (and again and again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutnfreedelites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Perfect for the holidays! I added a light maple frosting and served them slightly warm. Huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Made a double batch in 9x13 pan. Left out cloves entirely and followe some reviewer suggestions to leave more batter for the chocolate than the pumpkin. Just did two layers chocolate on bottom and pumpkin on top then swirled a lot with spatula. Tuned put gret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Yum - this is worth working out for a brownie made with whole wheat and raw sugar (the sucanat-sugar form which has a lot of good for you minerals, and which do not impact the flavor with the cocoa and pumpkin flavors in this recipe). Have made with whole wheat flour once thus far. I suspected that, when using WW flour, it would help to move towards a 'chewy' brownie. Therefore I left in all oil thus far and dropped one egg; still too cakey - perhaps because I included an extra Tbsp. or so of cocoa? The result was that the 'brownie' was more of a snack cake, but worse, it was a bit too chalky when made with whole wheat. The ground cloves came through much too strongly as well. Will try again next time with more pumpkin (maybe 2/3rds cup), less cocoa (maybe ........ hmmm, maybe I used a 1/3rd cup.....?? so maybe just keep it at a 1/4 cup leveled off for now), and use less cloves, if any at all. With the whole wheat and raw sugar and pumpkin, I personally consider this a great breakfast treat, not just a great desert - but will like it better when the cocoa doesn't come through tasting 'chalky'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The best way to add batter to the pan: Start by spreading most of the brownie batter in the pan (I use a little less base for pumpkin half than brownie half). Top with all of the pumpkin mixture. Use reserved brownie batter to add small dollops (about 9) to top. Swirl through dollops and pumpkin layer with spatula or knife- not too much, just until the desired look is achieved. Also, used 1/2 c. margarine, 2 eggs, 3/4 c. white sugar & 1/2 c. brown sugar, bittersweet chocolate chips, pecans, baked for just over 20 minutes (until top was no longer glossy). I don't usually like cloves, but they make this taste more like a holiday recipe and really add to the overall rich flavor, so I just reduced the amount a little. Dash of freshly ground nutmeg. The key to this is not to overmix or overbake. The result is moist, rich, and deceptively easy. Will be requested repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Too much nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made this last night and it was very well received! I doubled the recipe (since the pumpkin puree I bought was 15 oz) and accidentally made a few changes due to lack of ingredients and error. I did not have any cloves and I accidentally tripped the amount of chocolate chips! Oops, They were still very tasty and you still had a great amount of pumpkin flavor with a strong chocolate richness. Will certainly be making them again! I may try pecans instead of walnuts just to see how that would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
**Had to make tons for a party, so I used a box of brownie mix and made this recipe but only added pumpkin ingredients; doubled the pumpkin puree, cinnamon,and nutmeg then used pecans and a dash of cloves. Poured 1/2 brownie mix in bottom of 9x 13 pan then 3/4 of pumpkin mixture then the rest of brownie mix and then pumpkin. Used a knife to swirl, no problems. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnsthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States