Pumpkin Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is a delicious fall brownie. I admit I am partly responsible for authoring this recipe, but I don't think I've had a better brownie, and my girlfriend has made some serious brownies in the past. Using her already deliciously moist and dense brownie recipe as a base, the pumpkin component makes this easily the moistest baked good I've ever had. It's exactly what you'd get if a brownie and a slice of pumpkin pie had a baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CroqueMonsieur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Sooooo good!! I added a little less butter, a little more cocoa, half chocolate, half butterscotch chips, a little more of the spices, and reduced the cooking time to about 35-40 minutes and they were perrrfect-- Moist and rich and soo flavorful. Definitely try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed this recipes just as it is stated and it turned out wonderfully! Moist and chewy. I bet the base brownie recipe which this is formed from is spectacular too! Great new twist on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Yummy. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 only because my boys say they're a little too spicy (the clove I think). Nice quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
The pumpkin and chocolate combination is unique and works well together. I only used 7 T butter with 1/4 c plus 1 T applesauce in place of the rest of the butter. I also slightly decreased the nutmeg and cloves. This makes more of a snack cake or a cake-like brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Super yummy! I'm not usually a fan of brownies, but I'm definitely a fan of these ones! Very moist. My husband who loves brownies thought they were very tasty too. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Wonderful rich brownies! And I'm not a fan of pumpkin sweets. I used 1/2 c butter plus 1/4 c applesauce, and 1 c sucanat plus 1/4 c white sugar, added 1 T of flaxseed meal to the main batter, and omitted the cloves. I also used slightly less than the required nutmeg b/c I grated in fresh nutmeg, which has a stronger flavor. I baked in mini and regular muffin cups to make "brownie bites." Sorry, didn't pay attention to time in muffin pans...just kept a close eye on the oven and watched for doneness. I'd say it was less than 20 mins for even the regular muffin size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were delicious! I left out the cloves and of course substituted out some of the butter to make it healthier. I also used whole-wheat flour instead of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Great original recipe! I was also skeptical about how it would turn out, but followed the directions exactly (with the addition of butterscotch chips) and it was excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I thought this was fabulous although I did make a mistake on my first try because I was in a rush and needed to bake something for an office party for the next day as I almost mixed the cocoa powder in with the flour as you do for brownies. I scooped out as much as I could and went ahead and made it. It was a great hit with everyone and everyone asking for the recipe. I will agree though it is not exactly brownie like but more like snack cake. Very delicious though!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just made it again today as I have lots of pumpkin. Do not be afraid to try unless you don't care for pumpkin all that much like my husband. Don't care though all te more for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States