Pumpkin Brioche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
i wanted to just add a note instead of rating my own recipe but it wouldnt let me so i'm giving it 5 stars haha. i think adding more spice would make it even better. i hope you try it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
What a terrific recipe! Brioche is one of my favorite doughs to make—it’s got an absolutely luxurious texture once all the butter is incorporated. I used this recipe to make pecan sticky buns, which were wonderful, but I also wanted to taste the plain brioche, so I shaped one piece of dough as a brioche à tête. If you’re thinking of making this recipe, don’t expect the bread to taste like a sweet, spicy, pumpkiny quick bread: the pumpkin flavor is very subtle. It’s a perfect rich loaf, though, for serving with butter and jam or, if you’re getting fancy, for canapés. (I bet it would make absolutely outstanding French toast, too). At any rate, this is a very wet dough. It firms up after the first rise, and then again after refrigeration. I made it into sticky buns by letting it chill for 6 hours. I divided the dough in half, rolling each half out and brushing the dough with egg wash, sprinkling with about ½ cup sugar mixed with 2 tsp. cinnamon and then a heaping half-cup or so of chopped toasted pecans. I rolled up the logs in parchment and let them chill in the freezer for about 45 minutes before slicing into 2-oz rolls. I arranged the rolls in greased pans filled with a caramel goo topped with more pecans: I think I used 1½ cups brown sugar, 8 oz. butter, and 3 Tbsp golden syrup (dark corn syrup would work, too.) I covered the pans with plastic and put them in the fridge overnight, letting them rise again at room temp before baking the next morning. It made about 28 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This bread was so incredible. I used my breadmachine and layered in ingredients in wet first, dry second order. Put it on a dough setting. Once machine was done I floured up my hands and formed it into 2 loaves and let rise again for 20 minutes. Then baked off as directed. Turned out so fantastic. It is very rich and buttery - not for the calorie faint at heart. I used it on Christmas day for breakfast and my husband has requested it be our new annual tradition. I used it to make into french toast on second day and it was an out of body experience it was so darned good. Worth every minute you put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
this bread is a very light, slightly pumkin flavoured mound of goodness. It is very sticky before you chill it, and I forgot about the pan sitting in the oven on the final rise. So it may have risen for 2-3 hours before it was baked. It would be wondrful made up into cinnamon rolls with raisins, or pecan rolls. A little time consuming but well worth the effort. I am enjoying some now with cream cheese. I got 9 rolls so I used a 9X13 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This dough was very wet but did end up fine. I really disliked the texture of these warm but once they were cool they were delicious, I doubled the cinnamon and used a touch more sugar as I was wanting a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Recipe Group selection of 10/29. I followed the recipe exactly. When everything was mixed together I was really concerned because this was a very wet batter, not a dough as I am accustomed to and it didn't get too much firmer with the first rise. But I proceeded as directed and refrigerated the dough actually for almost 24 hours. Chilling had firmed it up considerably, but it was still sticky. I divided into 8 and formed balls, but there was no way all 8 would fit in my 9 x 5 pan so I put the 6 that fit in there and the other two went into a small foil loaf pan. I baked the small pan for a total of 20 minutes and the large pan for 30, reducing the temperature as instructed. The result is the most delightful, light, moist, delicately flavored treat. The spicing is perfect and the pumpkin flavor is subtle. These little beauties are expensive and time consuming, but oh so worth it! Thanks for a new holiday treat, purpleocean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Buzz Group Recipe for the week of 11/1. This dough gave me a bit of trouble but it did eventually firm up in the refrigerator. I fit all 8 balls into a 9x5 but I had to really squeeze them. My main issues are 2: #1 The center of the dough was not done after the first baking. I cut it and the first slice was ok, the next slice had a doughy unbaked section and I could see further in that the situation was worse, so I have it back in the oven now. My rating for flavor is based on the 1st slice, so my issue #2 is that I don't like the taste of this. The problem might be the allspice, or the lack of sugar, or a combination thereof. My husband likes this just fine, so overall I'm going to give it a 4 and try it again later after it cools, as Sarah-May said she liked the texture better then, so maybe. This is our first time making OR eating brioche and that is also probably a huge factor here. This bread loaf bakes up to a beautiful, professional appearance. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have never made a brioche before, that said, I'm not sure how badly I screwed this up. So I'm extrapolating. I neglected to let the dough rise the last 40 minutes in the pan. Entirely my fault. The flavor, however, was very mild. I was very nervous about how wet the dough was, but after refrigeration, it set right up! I would increase the spices and possibly use 2 pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My daughter loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe did not work for me at all. I usually use the pumpkin brioche recipe from "Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day," but since it was going to be used for Xmas gifts, I didn't want to make them whole grain. This acts as a batter bread...but it just does not set up. In fact, I used some of the dough to make croissants and they basically melted in the oven. the flavor was good (in the bit that was edible, but I won't be using this recipe again:( I am an avid bread maker (and have made brioche a few times, specifically,) but I just couldn't make this recipe work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States