Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This stuff is super yummy. I cut the baking time by ten minutes for a softer crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe! I have never baked bread this beautiful! I added chopped pecans and dried cranberries to one loaf~Did not quite need the full 90 minutes to bake. Very delicious too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn's Gal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Been making this every year for a few years. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This met with rave reviews at DH's work. I used a little less nutmeg, just a single 15-oz can of puree (I figured if I needed an extra ounce of liquid I'd add some milk, I did NOT need it), and I added half a bag of chocolate chips (just because I like them). This made 2 generously sized loaves which took more than 55 minutes and less than 90 minutes to cook, but I don't remember exactly how long because I started checking them at 55 minutes as per another reviewer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I made two small changes; I used melted butter instead of canola oil and I cut the sugar back in half again to 3/4 of a cup. I made muffins out of this recipe. I did not get ten, I got nine that were a little on the big side. 350 for 20 minutes and they were ready to go. This turned out okay--I wish it'd had more spices. It turned out really moist, just not really pumpkin-y or flavored with enough spice. If I were to make this again, I'd add more pumpkin instead of water, double the spices and maybe add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Only Change I made was to Add Raisins. Otherwise reminded me of the Pumpkin Bread my use to make growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rharejr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I have used this recipe for years, and it is always a huge favorite. Keeps well in the freezer so I can always have one on hand for a late breakfast or afternoon tea. I add 1/2-1 cup of golden raisins and 1/2 cup of pepitos, sprinkling a couple TBS over the top of the loaf for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought that the bread itself, was excellent. It was perfectly moist and a little crispy on the outside which gave it an amazing texture. The spices chosen with the type of ingredients were okay and they tasted great in the final product; I would suggest adding and tad bit more of all of them just to give it a little more flavor. I also used canned pumpkin instead of freshly picked and pureed, I'm sure it is much better with organic or fresh pumpkin but all in all its much like a spice bread or a spice cake. I will definately be making this for the holidays and maybe just for a snack. My favorite use of this is for breakfast cause its better than a donut!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smartcookie03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
1st time made according to directions and baked in loaf pans. Very dense and moist, great spice flavor. for the 2nd time, I fiddled and used 1 cup sugar, 1 cup splenda and about 1/2 cup agave. I also used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. Then cooked in muffin tins. The texture was a bit lighter, but still really good. I'm also working on adding a cheesecake factor by adding a swirl of cream cheese, egg sugar and vanilla. Still work left to do to figure out how to make that work the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Made this to use up some fresh pumpkin I roasted, pureed, and froze in the fall. Because I wanted to use as much of the 15+ bags of pumpkin taking up my freezer space, I decided to use pumpkin for the oil and the water. I used a total of 4 c of fresh pumpkin puree (the equivalent of 2 regular size cans). It turned out beautifully! I made 1 loaf, and the rest into muffins (I made 12 regular muffins, and I mixed about 1/4 chocolate chips into the remaining batter and got another 6 muffins for a total of 18). On the plain muffins and the loaf, I sprinkled some cinnamon and sugar on the tops before baking. Oh, I also used all whole wheat flour. All the moisture from the pumpkin covered up the "chewiness" that can sometimes present itself in quick breads using 100% whole wheat flour. We ate the loaf with in a couple days, and I froze the muffins to be taken out the night before. Both were very good, and we both seem to like the "day old" better than the fresh (the frozen muffins are included in the "day old"). The cinnamon and sugar kind of melted into a nice sweet cinnamon-y moist glaze. I think that most of the remaining pumpkin will be turned into more loaves of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States