Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This turned out really well! I made some changes as per the other reviews, however. I wanted it to be really pumpkin-y, so I didn't put vanilla in, even though I was tempted to (another reviewer said it cut the pumpkin flavor). Also, I put in two 15 oz cans of pumpkin, which equaled exactly the amount of pumpkin called for AND the amount of water called for (skipped adding water). I also replaced one cup white sugar with packed brown sugar, since I wanted that richer/deeper flavor. Once it was done I tried a piece still warm from the oven and it was great. Froze it, tried it again after it thawed, and it was better! You could taste a bit more pumpkin afterward and it was still very moist. I followed the baking time others recommended here: Checked at 50 minutes (toothpick came out goopy, but the tops were browned perfectly). Lightly covered the tops with foil and baked for another 10–15 minutes. Done! I'll definitely make this again. I'm a chocoholic and usually can't help throwing some chips in, but another reviewer said it overpowers the pumpkin. I'm glad I left them out because this is sweet and delicious as it is. But I'm sure it'd taste great with a Nutella spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
My family and I love this bread. Half of it was gone in 30 minutes! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
LOVED IT. added chocolate chucks. SOOOOOO yummy, thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by holly
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was my first time making pumpkin bread, and usually my first time making something isn't very good, but this bread tasted absolutely wonderful! It was so easy to make, and has the best flavor of any pumpkin bread I've ever had. I made it into muffins so I would have something to grab in the mornings as I hurry out the door. I put the batter into the pan and put different things into each muffin (chocolate chips, chopped walnut, raisins, and oats on the tops of some). Walnut was my favorite with chocolate chip in a close secong. Don't put too many chocolate chips in it though, or it overpowers the pumpkin flavor. I will definitely make this bread again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is a scrumptious pumpkin bread recipe! The only thing I do differently is add a 1/2 cup of raisins, which I think are healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very moist and yummy! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I usually dont rate a recipe unless I follow it exactly, but I decided to make this bread even though the only spice I had was cinnamon (I used 3 tsp.) and I used a cup of natures balance butter instead of oil. My two year old was helping me make this and while I had my back turned he poured 1/2 cup of sprite into the mix. I said "Oh well!" and continued on. I did not expect much, but this bread was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I could not get this recipe to work. My bread came out gummy and heavy. Even with adjusting the cooking time like suggested. I admit, I'm a cook not a baker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Oily to the touch and taste. I made two loaves - one for a gift. I'm glad I did a taste test....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States