Pumpkin Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
5 stars because this was delicious-- but I did make some significant changes. Instead of French bread I used whole wheat cinnamon-raisin bread, then skipped adding raisins. Instead of the cream and soy milk, I used 2 cups whole milk. Instead of puree I used a can of pumpkin pie filling, and then didn't add the cinnamon. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup, and added a cup of walnuts. Cooked in two square pans for 40 minutes- but next time will check it sooner. Absolutely heavenly dessert that everyone raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was heavenly (if you like pumpkin). I used 1% milk instead of the soy milk and 1 cup half and half instead of the heavy cream. Used a long french bread loaf. Made it in a 9x13 pan and baked at 350 for about 40-45 minutes. Some people liked Cool Whip on theirs but I preferred just the bread pudding. My adult daughter could not get enough of it and all my guests liked it also. I will make this again and do the same things as it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Overall was very good! I used reg milk and it came out fine. I am not a fan of raisins, so I add some milk chic chips. I also put in a 9x13 glass dish and baked for 45 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Xmas got here too quickly, so I didn't have any French bread or raisins, but it still turned out excellent with honey wheat and a little vanilla whipped cream on top. My guests (my S.O.'s parents and grandparents, all Jewish/Ukrainian immigrants) loved the dessert. I generally love bread pudding anyway, and this one is no exception. Other recipes may suggest a sweet topping (strusel or such), but the sweetness of this by itself is perfect IMHO without being too sweet. I wasn't sure what ramekins were, so I just divided the mixture into two casserole dishes. One might have been enough, but I wanted to ensure this cooked evenly all the way though. Thanks, Vivi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas KuddlKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is delicious! I am not a fan of soy milk and I had no cream, so I just used 2 cups of 2% milk and it tasted wonderful. I used 2 cups of puree pumpkin from my garden which made it an even more special treat. My other small change was that I only had dark brown sugar, so I used 3/4 cup of that and 1/4 cup white sugar so the flavor wouldn't overwhelm the pumpkin. This is one of the best bread puddings I've ever eaten. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Even my mother in law loved it!! Only thing I changed was 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of whole cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Super duper Good! Dh came home just as it was coming out of the oven, he ran to the freezer, got the Ice Cream and then ask if he could have some! I did use a multi grain bread, and more then 6 cups more like 8-so I added one more cup of cream and it worked out excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I followed thsi recipe pretty closely, although I used regular italian sandwich bread instead of french bread. I alos did not have raisins, so I finely chopped a gala apple and used that in place of the raisins. I also did not have heavy cream, but used half and half instead. I also used Nog flavored soymilk in place of the vanilla. (It was all I had!) This makes a very nice dessert. Not too sweet, but ideal served warm with vanilla ice cream and/or whipped cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Just awful. Followed the recipe exactly. Dessert is my specialty and this was an absolute flop. Tasted so bad I had to chuck it out. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Amazing. I loved this. so moist and delicious. OMG nomzies. I used 1 C whole milk instead of so milk. and 6 cups cubed white bread instead of French bread. I also put it in a 13 x 9 in. pan and baked for 45 mins. So moist and gooey! love it. Made it a day ahead of time and reheated for guests. I served it with no sugar whipped cream. Incredible. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States