Pumpkin Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was phenomenal! I made a few changes, though. I used two cups of whole milk instead of the cream and soy milk. I used 3 cups of French Bread and 3 cups of Cinnamon raisin. I also made a sauce out of 5 ounces of evaporated milk, 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 tablespoon of cream of coconut. With about 15 minutes left to bake, I drizzled the sauce over the pudding. Make sure you don't let the sauce set too long or else the fat in the cream of coconut will separate and you'll have to re-heat it. The pudding itself was very moist and rich with flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Super duper Good! Dh came home just as it was coming out of the oven, he ran to the freezer, got the Ice Cream and then ask if he could have some! I did use a multi grain bread, and more then 6 cups more like 8-so I added one more cup of cream and it worked out excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was heavenly (if you like pumpkin). I used 1% milk instead of the soy milk and 1 cup half and half instead of the heavy cream. Used a long french bread loaf. Made it in a 9x13 pan and baked at 350 for about 40-45 minutes. Some people liked Cool Whip on theirs but I preferred just the bread pudding. My adult daughter could not get enough of it and all my guests liked it also. I will make this again and do the same things as it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
5 stars because this was delicious-- but I did make some significant changes. Instead of French bread I used whole wheat cinnamon-raisin bread, then skipped adding raisins. Instead of the cream and soy milk, I used 2 cups whole milk. Instead of puree I used a can of pumpkin pie filling, and then didn't add the cinnamon. I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup, and added a cup of walnuts. Cooked in two square pans for 40 minutes- but next time will check it sooner. Absolutely heavenly dessert that everyone raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was the best recipe ever! I love pumpkin and I love bread pudding so mix em together and it's even better! This is the moistest bread pudding you can imagine. I am making it again tomorrow for a group dessert. Can't wait to hear all the raves on this!!!!! MmmmmMMmmmmmGood!!!!! Super easy to make. The longest part is the baking time. But it is soooo worth it!!!!! 5 stars all the way!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I followed thsi recipe pretty closely, although I used regular italian sandwich bread instead of french bread. I alos did not have raisins, so I finely chopped a gala apple and used that in place of the raisins. I also did not have heavy cream, but used half and half instead. I also used Nog flavored soymilk in place of the vanilla. (It was all I had!) This makes a very nice dessert. Not too sweet, but ideal served warm with vanilla ice cream and/or whipped cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Overall was very good! I used reg milk and it came out fine. I am not a fan of raisins, so I add some milk chic chips. I also put in a 9x13 glass dish and baked for 45 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Xmas got here too quickly, so I didn't have any French bread or raisins, but it still turned out excellent with honey wheat and a little vanilla whipped cream on top. My guests (my S.O.'s parents and grandparents, all Jewish/Ukrainian immigrants) loved the dessert. I generally love bread pudding anyway, and this one is no exception. Other recipes may suggest a sweet topping (strusel or such), but the sweetness of this by itself is perfect IMHO without being too sweet. I wasn't sure what ramekins were, so I just divided the mixture into two casserole dishes. One might have been enough, but I wanted to ensure this cooked evenly all the way though. Thanks, Vivi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KuddlKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States