Pumpkin Bread Puddin' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I had made something similar to this several years ago, but couldn't find the recipe and this one was similar enough that I tried it. Absolutely scrumptious! Because I was serving this at a dinner party, I had to make it ahead of time. When it came time to serve, we simply popped the custard cups in the microwave for about 30 seconds to warm them up and then topped with rum-infused heavy whipped cream. I remembered the original recipe called for challah bread, which I could not find at two different supermarket bakeries. Instead I used sweet French bread, which worked wonderfully. I also used 3/4 cup 1% milk and 3/4 cup fat-free half and half, which worked just fine for the whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this today....doubled the recipe since I wanted to use the whole 15 oz can of pumpkin. I used 4 whole eggs as another reviewer suggested. Replaced chocolate chips with raisins and added a couple extra slices of bread to make it a little drier. I needed it drier because I baked in mini muffins tins, hoping to make it a "finger food"....hoping they set up a little firmer from the extra bread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
No flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Wow, is this good! Made mine with cinnamon swirl bread, whole eggs and skim milk, then omitted the chocolate chips. Everyone raved about it. We've found a new holiday dessert favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My roommate and I made this and It. Was. Awesome! People said it tasted like restaurant-quality BP and I actually think it was even better :) Definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it came out dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Techtwin2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Good. Use chocolate chips to taste. Came out flatter than envisioned but still good. Pretty sweet too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Photo by alaska
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Omitted the chocolate chips (didn't have any) and added an extra cup and a half of bread cubes as it appeared pretty runny as written. Overall, pretty good texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I'm not sure how to rate this because my boyfriend told both he and his mother that this was the best dessert he had ever had in his life. I on the other hand though it was kind of gross.... and I'm the chocolate lover... not him! It tasted like a big mushy chocolate chip cookie. The chocolate completely overpowered the pumpkin. I would definitely use more pumpkin, 1 tsp cinnamon, the same amount of cloves and nutmeg, and raisins instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States