Pumpkin Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Your mouth will start to water 40 min. into the baking time as the aroma invades your home!!! Since this makes 3 loaves, it is a great gift to bring over to neighbors and relatives, also great to freeze and have on hand. I will definetly use only half of the oil, and substitute the rest for unsweetened applesauce since it is 10g fat per slice. It stays fresh in the fridge for a little over a week. I had to cook mine for 70-75 min. but that is probably due to my oven.********So I tried this recipe again and put only applesauce and no oil. The result? Better! It is so moist and delicious and healthier! I have made it this way 10 plus times now and I will never go back to putting oil in it! ********This lightened version is: 168 calories, 1 g fat per serving (36 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is really great. The only thing I did differently was I didn't measure out 3 cups of pumpkin. I just used a 28 oz can. You get about a half cup more pumpkin than called for, but it sure doesn't hurt it any, and I have no recipe that only calls for a half cup pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
950 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Very good for gifts! I even cut back on the sugar and oil slightly for health reasons and no one notices the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
This is the best pumpkin bread! I added rum soaked raisins to the batter and I also doubled the spices which really brought out the flavor. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I made this recipe for muffins and mini muffins and they were wonderful! I tried a small loaf pan of bread but it seemed to get too done on top before the middle. A dense bread! Excellent for muffins....I took them to preschool for snack and kept some for home! I'll use this one again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I've made 2 batches of this yummy bread for the holidays as gifts. Of course we taste-tested 1st...really, really good! I added chopped pecans to one batch. ONLY PROBLEM I ENCOUNTERED WAS: had to cook for at least 15 mins longer than recommended for 1st batch...it made 7 mini loaves. 2nd batch I made 3 minis and 1 reg. sz. loaf...cooked 20 mins longer for the lg., 10 mins longer for the minis. Otherwise...GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I discovered this recipe about a year ago and have made it at least 20 times. Everyone raves about it, it is simply delicious! My daughter likes to eat a slice of this bread with a dallop of whipped cream on top- it tastes just like pumpkin pie, only better. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I've been asked to make this again and again. We added walnuts and/or raisins with yummy results. Little loafs make great winter-holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
MMMM MMMM MMMMMMMMMMMM!!!! This pumpkin bread recipe is the best ever! I made it last year for the first time and it's wonderful, only change I made is I added more spices and added Craisins to one loaf, chocolate chips to one, raisins to one, and left the rest plain (made a lot). I actually think it's best plain! Oh and the bread has a gorgeous color and TASTE, even my four and five year old cousins loved it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This is similar to a recipe from the Joy of Cooking that I have misplaced. It was delicious and moist. I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon, etc. as that's all I had handy and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States