Pumpkin Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a very good pumpkin bread recipe. I added some dried cherries that I wanted to use up. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoMeMotoU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
First of all, I am not reviewing my variation of this recipe that may or may not resemble the original, my reviews are always on the recipe as written. As written this is one of the best pumpkin breads I've had. It's sweet but not excessively so, very soft, and almost perfectly spiced. Made in loaf or muffin form it's yummy, especially the day after you make it. Having made this recipe several times the past couple of years, both the recipe as written, and with some tweaks there are some changes I make that result in a five star recipe. You will note that I rated the recipe as written four stars. The four cups of sugar is excessive. I've been reducing the sugar a little bit since the second time I made this. At three cups this is still very yummy, and I prefer the level of sweetness. While I always recommend making a recipe as written the first time, ESPECIALLY if you intend to review it, this is improved with less sugar. Additionally, I now make this with an extra half cup of pumpkin, not only is this more convenient, but the bread is denser and I find the flavor to be a bit better. I have tried this 1 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce. The taste of the bread was unchanged but I'm not a fan of the sticky moistness that resulted on the top of the bread. Also, I find that adding 1/4 - 1/2 tsp more cloves than called for really elevates the flavor of this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was amazing!! I added slightly more spices and some pumpkin pie spice. Everyone loved it!! I scaled it down to 2 loaves instead of 3...this made 1 loaf, 2 mini loaves, and 3 muffins. Had no trouble with anything when scaling it down. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My son love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious! Especially with chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
OMG, this is the best receipe for pumpkin bread! I make this yearly for my kids' teachers in small loaf pans, wrap it in plastic with a bow! Many of children love this receipe as well! Don't change anything, simply the best!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We all loved it!! Triple the batch, you're gonna need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Make sure you have plenty of spices (nutmeg, cinnamon, all spice). It is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The best recipe. I didn't plan ahead the first time I made this and only had 1 cup reg. sugar. So I used that, the remaining 1 1/2c raw sugar I had on hand (ground fine in a coffee grinder), and 1/2 c honey. Turned out wonderful. Not sweet but very flavorful. The second time, I followed the directions as-is (actually, the video) and it turned out wonderful. Sweeter than my first attempt and a more subtle flavor, but still great. So now I have 2 variations from 1 recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I adjusted the recipe for 12 and made it into a muffin type of pan. I do not remember how long I let them stay in the oven but I kept good track of them until the knife i stabbed them with was clean. I put one fourth of a cup of chocolate chips in. I was not sure how much to put in. I think this was a good amount. They came out great! Nice and moist. So far everyone that has had one loves em! This is the first thing I have ever baked :D. Very Happy with the results. I will make more! They are for thanksgiving! Yay me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States