Pumpkin Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Loved it - this exact recipe creates a large batch. We used to fill in mini-crocs and gave away as teacher gifts. Lots of raves about this pumpkin bread! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Throw out your other recipes for pumpkin bread. This is fabulous! I have been baking over 50 years and this one is a keeper. It has a nice firm yet light texture and excellent flavor. Nice and pumpkiny. It tastes even better the next day. I had a slice with cream cheese for breakfast and I kept thinking, "This is so yummy!" I cut the recipe in half and it yielded 2 good size loaves. I added raisins and used half oil and half applesauce to reduce the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Foust

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This recipe turned out very well, good flavor and easy to make. Sometimes we even make it into large muffins for a quick and easy breakfast snack. I did add a whole large can of pumpkin which comes out to about 4 cups instead of three and I add rehydrated raisins too. I just soak the raisins in water until they plump up and they stay chewy in the bread. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morningsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Perfect! (If you want to be healthier, you can decrease the oil and sugar and it will be fine! It's already very sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I scaled down the recipe to yield 2 loaves. Instead of using 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp cloves, I doubled the cinnamon and added 1 tsp pumpkin spice. I also added 3 tsp vanilla extract and a handful of chocolate chips! The loaves turned out moist, sweet, and delicious every time, and I had friends asking for the recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made only one loaf, so needed to adjust the recipe, otherwise followed exactly as written. I also made it two days ahead. It was moist and flavorful. I did sift the flour with the other dry ingredients. I don't know if that makes a significant difference. I also kept in wrapped in a double layer of aluminum foil and kept if in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it tasted good and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This recipe is scrumptious! The only changes I made were to increase all of the spices a little and I made them into muffins instead of loaves. It took 24 minutes to bake the muffins (regular sized, not jumbo). I will definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made this two times now. The first time I substituted a half a cup of oil w/ apple sauce. It was soo delicious! Two loafs went to work with my hubs and they loooved it! The second time I substituted a majority of the oil with apple sauce. Not a fan!!!! I know its healthier but it was just not good. My husband did not even want want to take it to work for the guys. Actually most of it got thrown out. I would not suggest making it this way. I know its healthier but it is also not good. Both times I sprinkled the bread with sanding sugar and that gives it a pretty look and an extra yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Wundebar! I've made a few adjustments: fresh puree left over from my Halloween pumpkin which is so much tastier than the canned stuff, wheat flour instead of white (better taste and texture), 3 cups of raw sugar instead of 4 cups of white sugar (better taste), sprinkle top of bread batter with chopped nuts of your choice and cinnamon/sugar mixture. I've also mixed craisins in the batter, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Raine Buhl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States