Pumpkin Bread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I was looking for a recipe for fresh bread and muffins. My pumpkin was too small so I reduced the recipe and made one loaf of bread and six giant muffins. They are so good. I had one at the major donut chain I get my coffee at and was so disappointing, so I bought the pumpkin and made these. Just a great recipe from start to table. Easy to prepare (esp. if you used canned pumpkin) leaves the house smelling FANTASTIC and great taste. This recipe is EXACTLY what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I also substituted applesauce for oil and used two cans of pumpkin instead of measuring out 3 cups, and the bread turned out wonderfully moist and delicious. I added chocolate chips, flaxseed meal, and I used a combination of whole wheat and all purpose flour to give it a little more fiber. Even with those changes the bread was extremely moist and wonderful not to mention how good it smells while it is baking. My family walked in the door and all exclaimed how delicious it smelled. With the variations that I made my cook time was 75 minutes, but the bread turned out perfect. I would suggest just making the 3 loaves from the recipe because they get eaten quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFreicook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Wow this recipe is wonderful! 3 people polished off entire batch in less than 3days. I added a little ginger. 1/3 of batter I placed in large muffin tin with brown sugar crumble on top w/pecans. Delicious-will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
My family love this recipe! I do, however, make a couple changes. The oil is cut to 1 cup, and the sugar content is reduced to 2 cups. I would like to remove more oil, but it is a main moisture ingredient and applesauce would be carb enhancing. Otherwise, an excellent version! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and it is very good. I add toasted walnuts as they stay crisper after being baked in the batter. I also add chocolate chips sometimes. I am thinking of maybe adding some cream cheese ...maybe but it does not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Svinth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This came out great. I made it lower in fat by using 1 c unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 c oil. I made 2 loaves (filling the pans 3/4 full) and 12 muffins out of this much batter. I made a streusel topping out of brown sugar, butter, flour and cinnamon for one of the loaves and the mufffins. My only mistake was using cupcake papers in the muffin tins.. they stuck to the paper pretty bad so next time I will try to remember to just grease the muffin tins. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I love this recipe. The bread is very moist with a nice, crispy crust. I sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top. I love that the recipe makes three loaves! The loaves freeze very well, too. My children are extremely picky eaters, and they devour this bread. Perfect for fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this last night and it was outstanding. This was the most moist and delicious pumpkin bread I have ever had...and I can't believe I made it. I gave some to a neighbor who didn't try it in front of me, but he sent my husband a text telling him that he loves me because although he didn't know what pumpkin bread was before yesterday, he said it was amazing. I didn't add as much sugar as the recipe called for so it could have been a tad sweeter (to my husband and son) but I think it's perfect. I will definitely make this again, for my house and to give away. One thing I would like to note is I made this for 24 servings and added a teaspoon and a half of vanilla extract, two teaspoons of cinnamon, instead of one and a teaspoon and a half of nutmeg instead of one. Without those additions, I don't think it would have been as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This makes a good pumpkin bread. I did do a few things suggested by others to make it healthier - cut sugar to 1 cup white and 1 cup packed brown sugar, and used 1 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil. I upped spices to 2 teaspoons each. I made muffins for my daughter's kindergarten class, and the recipe made 24 large muffins plus enough leftover for a very small loaf. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States