Pumpkin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I loved this recipe. I changed the walnuts into chocolate chips (okay almost 2 cups :). It did take almost 15 minutes extra in the oven (I'm assuming it's my altitude) and I made sure to let it cool for 15 minutes in the pan. Stayed moist for 3 days...until it all disappeared from my kitchen. Was really yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is a moist and delicious bread. I used raisins in place of the nuts. If you are looking for a classic pumpkin bread - look no farther. This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I agree with some of the other reviwers that this recipe needs seasoning. That being said this recipe is GREAT for being a blank slate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe out one day when I had brown sugar, but no white sugar and really wanted pumpkin bread, and it has been the best recipe Ive come across so far. I did modify a little, adding spices (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice). This is the second time I've made it and this time I substituted chocolate chips in for the nuts and it is even better! Next time I'll do both. I also cooked it in a 9x9 pan, and had no problems with it not cooking evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I used this recipe to make some pumpkin bread for my husband this morning. It is definately moist! I used a bit more pumpkin than called for, and less milk, added tons of nuts, and even stirred in some pumpkin pie spice. I have a convection oven, so when I thought it wasn't going to get done in time, I turned the convection fan on. It turned out fine, and even though it has been a few hours, it is still moist and delicious! This is a quick recipe that took no time to prepare, and I am certain my husband's construction crew will give it rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This bread didn't have a very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe definitely requires the use of spices to improve it. So I added some cinnamon, allspice and bit of fresh grated nutmeg. In addition, I used pumpkin pie filling, instead of pureed pumpkin. I aslo added walnuts and raisins to the mix. I found that the recipe was too much for one loaf pan so I dumped the whole lot into a 9x13 pan and cooked for the 45 mins to great results. It was very moist and had a light, cakey consistancy. A decent base recipe, but requires tweaking to improve taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I agree with the above comment.I wish that I had thought to read the reviews before I made it. It is good and served gladly for my breakfast a few days. But it lacks a sort of zing. Morespice and maybe a bit more brown sugar. Like the person above said it's a good base. Gives room for personal taste to govern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
The recipe says to cook this bread for 40-50 mins, but my bread has now been in the oven for an hour, and no where near being done. I should have read the reviews before making it. It is simple enough to make, but I probably should have split it between two pans. Maybe it will still turn out okay if I leave it in longer, but it's probably gonna burn before it finishes in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was the blandest pumpkin bread I have ever tried. I added cinnamon and raisins and nuts to the second batch and it didn't make a difference. The reason I tried it again was because of the butter and thought it might be different, but it was heavy and thick and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States