Pumpkin Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
IM FURIOUS!!! IM AT THE POINT OF TEARS BECAUSE MY BREAD HAS BEEN IN THE OVEN FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME AND MY EDGES ARE OVERCOOKED AND MY MIDDLE IS LIKE SOUP. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is a moist and delicious bread. I used raisins in place of the nuts. If you are looking for a classic pumpkin bread - look no farther. This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I agree with the above comment.I wish that I had thought to read the reviews before I made it. It is good and served gladly for my breakfast a few days. But it lacks a sort of zing. Morespice and maybe a bit more brown sugar. Like the person above said it's a good base. Gives room for personal taste to govern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I am so frustrated!!!! I spent a lot of money to 4xs this recipe and right now it has been in the oven for over an hour and half and it is still not done!!! This is the second batch we already had it mixed to do the second batch or I wouldn't have made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
What a disaster! The recipe is a nightmare! You absolutely need to make two loaves---it will not cook in one pan. I wish I would have read other reviews before baking this mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
The WORST bread recipe I have ever made and I bake two or three times a week. I should have known when the dough's consistency was too runny and there was WAY too much. With all of the other great pumpkin bread recipes out there this one isn't even worth trying to salvage. Just use another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Absolutely the worst bread recipe I've ever made. No flavor (I added spices to the recipe), didn't bake thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I agree with some of the other reviwers that this recipe needs seasoning. That being said this recipe is GREAT for being a blank slate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe out one day when I had brown sugar, but no white sugar and really wanted pumpkin bread, and it has been the best recipe Ive come across so far. I did modify a little, adding spices (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice). This is the second time I've made it and this time I substituted chocolate chips in for the nuts and it is even better! Next time I'll do both. I also cooked it in a 9x9 pan, and had no problems with it not cooking evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe definitely requires the use of spices to improve it. So I added some cinnamon, allspice and bit of fresh grated nutmeg. In addition, I used pumpkin pie filling, instead of pureed pumpkin. I aslo added walnuts and raisins to the mix. I found that the recipe was too much for one loaf pan so I dumped the whole lot into a 9x13 pan and cooked for the 45 mins to great results. It was very moist and had a light, cakey consistancy. A decent base recipe, but requires tweaking to improve taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States