Pumpkin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful and very easy recipe. My fiance LOVED it. I added walnuts and raisins as suggested. I lightly sprinkled some confection sugar for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This recipe turned out very good. Definitely will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
this should be your first choice for Thanksgiving Dessert. You shoudl try it! It's DELICIOUS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Great!! After I started making this, I realized I didn't have applesauce, so I went ahead and used vegetable oil. I also didn't have any walnuts, but I can't wait to make this again and add nuts, and probably raisins, to it. After reading the other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 2.5 cups, and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I made this recipe even healthier by using Splenda and Egg Beaters. The taste is the same! I brought the recipe to 109 kcal/slice, and 1.8g fat/ slice and 19 Carbs/slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very good pumpkin flavor. As someone suggested I used 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites in place of the 4 eggs. Also I made 2 larger loaves and 12 mini muffins. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This was good. I was kinda dissapointed st first before it cooled, (thinking the inside was still dough...but it was just moist with a hard crust) I added more spices and pumpkin and added 1.5 tbs vanilla as well. in one of the loaves I aslo added chocolate chips, it worked very well! and also making a powder sugar glaze mixed with pumpkin pie spice. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I really enjoyed this pumpkin bread! To save a bit more in terms of calories and fat, and to add fiber (without sacrificing flavor or texture), I made the following substitutions / additions: 1/2 c Better 'n Eggs instead of 4 whole eggs (would probably go with 3/4 c next time) Instead of 1 c applesauce: 3/4 c applesauce 2 T canola oil 1 T liquid lecithin (a natural soy-based emulsifier) For the 3 c white sugar, I used: 1/2 c granulated sugar 1/2 c brown sugar 1/4 c sucralose (would probably up the sucralose to 1/2 c next time, to get a little more sweetness) Used half all-purpose and half whole wheat pastry flour: 1 3/4 c whole wheat pastry flour 1 3/4 c all-purpose flour Spices: Didn't have pumpkin pie spice so used 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves Also added: 1/4 tsp guar gum (a natural stabilizer) 2 tsp vanilla 1/4 c Silk unsweetened soy milk instead of the water I baked it in a 9" X 13" pan for about 30 minutes to make brownie-style servings. Without any nuts, these modifications give the following nutritional profile for 1 of 24 servings: 127.1 cal, 2.6 g protein, 2.0 g fat (only 0.18 saturated), and 24.8 g carbs (2.1 fiber, 5.9 sugars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I was very happy to find a healthy recipe and still have the bread be very moist and tasty! This recipe is also very versatile for substitutions. I changed a few things just for my personal diet. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used two egg whites in place of two of the eggs. I eliminated totally one cup of the sugar and replaced one with brown sugar (i.e. 1 cup white, 1 cup brown) and the recipe was still sweet enough for me. I also, baked it in a bundt pan for 55 minutes. After it cooled I inverted it onto a decorative plate and sifted a small amount of confectioner's sugar over the top, it was a huge hit and guest couldn't believe how low fat it was and still tasted great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I was in the mood for pumpkin bread last week and chose this recipe over the countless others on this site. I was not disappointed! Very moist and a nice flavor. The 3 cups of sugar seemed too much, so I experimented and just used 1.5 cups and added a pinch more of a few of the spices. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States