Pumpkin Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
please dont make this...there are much better pumpkin bread recipes on this site...but if you do not heed my warning and decide to make it...please at least add a teaspoon or so each of cinnamon, ginger, or nutmeg, and possibly cloves and vanilla. w/o these this bread will be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
It was a little dry, even with custard spooned on top. However, I think it would be wonderful in a dressing/stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this for Ibby's Pumpkin Mushroom Stuffing and it was perfect for that. However if I was just having it for a pumpkin bread I've had better. I added extra cinnamon and it still lacked flavor. But for the stuffing it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
greatly enjoyed by all the family and friends. I think I have started a new tradition in our family this year. I was even able to use splenda so my diabetic husband could enjoy some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was the best pumpkin bread recipe I have ever baked!! I baked up two loaves to have as dessert for our annual Oktoberfest. It went so fast and so many asked for the recipe, that I made 4 batches, 8 loaves, to give away at Christmas! A big hit! And the real beauty, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I really do love this bread.... All you have to do is add spices as you like... I made it and it was really good. It was a healthy dessert and snack choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyRenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
For me, it turned out fairly dry, and too much nutmeg. Next time I would stick to just cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I love this bread but more importantly my kids love this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made this, but changed it up quite a bit by adding 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup dark chocolate chips, and 1 cup walnuts. It was very tasty (maybe due to the additions?), but was definitely a bit too dry. If I try it again I would half the recipe, but keep the full 2 cups of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this for a class project. After reading some reviews, I added a small amount of cinnamon to the recipe. Also, the middle didn't cook all the way so it ended up mushy while the sides were cooked perfectly fine. Everyone in my class loved it though. Overall, it was still a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States