Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was the moistest pumpkin bread I have ever tasted! I made it specially for my boyfriend and he loved it too. It came out more like pumpkin cake, so I think this recipe would make excellent cup cakes. I did substitute a very high quality dark brown mollasses sugar for 1 cup of the white. I also used "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" instead of the butter. Topped the final product off with "Pumpin Bar Icing" from this site and the result was simply amazing! I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I've never had or made pumpkin bread before so I was taking a chance, but this season I seem to be in a pumpkin mood, and this recipe caught my eye, first because it seemed so easy with simple and readily available ingredients, and secondly because of the good amount of spices it called for and it didn't call for rainsins or nuts. I needed something special to bring to a bake sale fundraiser for our local library. I got up early this morning, and sleepy-eyed put this together and doubled the recipe. It wasn't until I went to put the batter in the pan that I realized that the original recipe made two loaves. What a serindipitous oversight! The house was redolent with the heady aroma of spices and pumpkin. My car two smelled divine from the two still hot loaves I was taking to the bake table. A gentleman eyed my offerings somewhat suspiciously and demanded to know if there were any nuts in the bread. I assured him there were none, and just about that time a slight breeze carried and lifted the aroma to the air. The bread did not even hit the table! The gentleman gave me a huge smile, and then the loaves were gone, just like that! They didn't even hit the bake table. I came home sliced into one of the loaves I saved for myself, shared a bite with my sweetie (who doesn't like a broad range of foods), who said "I hope those two loaves are for us, because I can tell you right now, they're not going to last long around me!" What more can I say? Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Delicious pumpkin bread! Easy to make too! I made a regular size loaf and 3 mini loaves with this recipe. I would like it even better with a little less spice. I think next time I will use 1 tsp. of the spices instead of 1 1/2. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I was short on time and made this bread into a "cake" in a 9x13 pan. It was very well received and moist. You can taste the spices in this bread, which is the way my family prefers it. You could always cut them down though. I took it to a friends house and returned with an empty pan. I am making right now in a 9x13 and I think that is how I will do it form now on.Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I used a 15 oz. can of pumpkin...I guess I could have used 2 cups from a larger can, but it worked! It is better the next day, I think. It has great spice. Keep an eye on the bread and check for doneness...mine was ready in 45 minutes, but my oven runs a little hot. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this bread and took it to share at work. It was devoured in minutes, and several people told me it was the best pumpkin bread they'd ever had! I should mention that I grated my own nutmeg, I used a 15-ounce can of pumpkin (as opposed the the 16-ounce can called for in the recipe), I added about a tablespoon of vanilla, and I dusted the bread with confectioner's sugar after it was cooled. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Very moist bread. I'm usually not a big fan of anything pumpkin, but this bread is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe is absolutely wonderful. My family used to have to wait until the fair to buy bread this good. It is very moist and pumpkin-ey. I'm sure that nuts would be a great addition, but it is scrumptious as-is. As soon as I made it, half was devoured and my sister asked for the recipe. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This is by far the best pumpkin bread recipe I have ever tried. I made the bread as a special treat for my cousin, who was visiting from out-of-town. The two of us finished two loaves in under six days. Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I substituted allspice for the ground cloves and the result was just the right amount of spice. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar. It's the best pumpkin bread I've ever tasted -- even my 3 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Beard Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States