Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This recipe is to die for! I made a few modifications to the original recipe. I added a teaspoon of Vanilla Extract, reduced the ground Cloves to 1 teaspoon and added 1 teaspoon of ground Allspice. I also added a cup of chopped, glazed walnuts to the batter. I didn't have 2 loaf pans so I poured the batter into a Bundt pan. I had to bake it at 350 for an hour and twenty minutes. I dusted the top with a mix of powdered sugar and cinnamon for a little pizazz! Not many recipes pass the test and go into my Family Favorite file, but this one will for sure. Oh, did I mention, the whole house smells absolutely devine while this is baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
745 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I loved this recipe. I changed a few things though. I only used 1/2 C. butter and 1/2 C. unsweeted apple sauce to keep it a little calorie friendly. I also used half brown sugar and half white. More cinnamon and way less cloves, same amount of nutmeg. I also added choc. chips to half the batter. The best part was I made a maple syrup mixed with butter and cream cheese spread to melt on the warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I've never had or made pumpkin bread before so I was taking a chance, but this season I seem to be in a pumpkin mood, and this recipe caught my eye, first because it seemed so easy with simple and readily available ingredients, and secondly because of the good amount of spices it called for and it didn't call for rainsins or nuts. I needed something special to bring to a bake sale fundraiser for our local library. I got up early this morning, and sleepy-eyed put this together and doubled the recipe. It wasn't until I went to put the batter in the pan that I realized that the original recipe made two loaves. What a serindipitous oversight! The house was redolent with the heady aroma of spices and pumpkin. My car two smelled divine from the two still hot loaves I was taking to the bake table. A gentleman eyed my offerings somewhat suspiciously and demanded to know if there were any nuts in the bread. I assured him there were none, and just about that time a slight breeze carried and lifted the aroma to the air. The bread did not even hit the table! The gentleman gave me a huge smile, and then the loaves were gone, just like that! They didn't even hit the bake table. I came home sliced into one of the loaves I saved for myself, shared a bite with my sweetie (who doesn't like a broad range of foods), who said "I hope those two loaves are for us, because I can tell you right now, they're not going to last long around me!" What more can I say? Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I have made pumpkin bread before and used other recipes on this site. This is by far the best. Using the butter is much better than other oil recipes. The bread comes out dense, not spongy or oily and a nice hard crust around all edges. I definately used this recipe as a base and added some items I found work in other recipes. Such as: 1 tsp of ginger, 2 cups of chopped walnuts, cut the sugar down 2/3 cup and kept the bread uncovered so its crust wouldn't get soft. Amazing bread, this is my third in a week but I wanna devour this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great recipe! Batter was very thick and cooked about 15 min faster than time given. I cut down cloves to 1/2 tsp, added 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp all spice, increased cinnamon to 2 tsp, and cut sugar down to 2.5 cups. I used 1 cup white sugar and 1.5 cups dark brown sugar. I pushed walnut halves in the top of the unbaked loaves then sprinkled w/a sugar/cinnamon mix. While the loaves were still warm I made the Pumpkin Bar Icing from this site, adding a tsp cinnamon and thinning it down with milk. I then drizzled it all over the top so it could soak into the warm loaves, but letting the walnuts show through. It was so pretty and yummy! I'm giving this out to everyone at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I have been trying different pumpkin bread recipes but this one is by far my favorite. I decreased the cloves to 1/2 tsp,increased the cinnamon to 2 tsp, added a dash of salt and did the rest as written. Made muffins out of the batter (made about 30) and they were to die for. This is nice and spicy without overwhelming you. This will be my permanent pumpkin bread recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this bread and took it to share at work. It was devoured in minutes, and several people told me it was the best pumpkin bread they'd ever had! I should mention that I grated my own nutmeg, I used a 15-ounce can of pumpkin (as opposed the the 16-ounce can called for in the recipe), I added about a tablespoon of vanilla, and I dusted the bread with confectioner's sugar after it was cooled. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made no changes, this is a most excellent recipe. Will serve it again on christmas. The entire family raved about it, including my bread loving mother
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Best pumpkin bread recipe I've ever found! (and I've been searching..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. To suit our tastes, though, I may lessen the cloves next time, add a little ginger, and sweeten it just a bit with cinnamon and sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States