Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
It was a bit too spicy to my family's likings: I read the reviews and reduced ground cloves to 1 tsp, but, still. Other than that, this was a nice recipe; easy to follow even for me, a first time pumpkin bread maker. Next time I will reduce the spices further and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a super easy recipe that turns out very moist. I only made one major change. I used 3 teaspoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice as a substitute for the 4.5 tsp of combined cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg called for. I'm not a fan of having too much of a clove flavor in anything and this helps alot . this last time I added mini choc. chips and some grated orange peel. This too, turned out really good. As for those of you that are having troubles with this "falling" in the center, I'm betting you are using Margarine. I suggest using sweet cream butter sticks instead, as margarine is made of mostly oil, which makes for super moistness, but less density. If you want not to use so much fat, substitute 1/2 unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 butter. Also, bake a min or two longer if the top is still quite sticky to the touch, even if a toothpick comes out clean. It's less likely to fall if its only just slightly sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaJavaMan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I absolutely loved this bread and will definitely be making it again. I used half brown and half white sugar, although the next time I will probably cut back on it as it was pretty sweet. I also took the advice in other reviews and cut way back on the cloves. Delicious. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Perfect as is! I doubled the recipe and it made three large loaves. My kids and husband couldn't wait for it to cool. It was devoured. I didn't add nuts or raisins, but I think these would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
My family thought this was some kind of spice bread. We couldn't hardly taste the pumpkin at all. I felt I had wasted my can of pumpkin even though they liked the bread. It did disappear in only a couple of days but it's NOT pumpkin bread. I won't be making this one again. The Cinnamon bread from this site is wonderful if I want "spice" bread! I will make something else with my pumpkin where I'll be able to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Even the picky eaters in the house liked this recipe. Cut sugar by a cup and tasted just fine. Made into 24 mini loaves and cooked them for 22 min. Freeze great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
It came out awesome! Easy and Tasty!!! I added a bit more puree since I had a bit extra in the can- but it came out moist and delicious! Thanks for the recipe! Making again today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made this last night, and my whole family loved it--tasted great! The problem was that it fell in the middle. I put this in smaller loaves to give as Christmas gifts to neighbors. Did I cook it too long maybe? I checked it at 40 min's, and the knife came out clean. Also, I live in a high-altitude climate. Should I lessen the baking soda/powder and add 1T flour? I thought I'd try making muffins tonight out of it, and see if that works better. Any ideas to get this "looking" as good as it tastes for me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good recipe! I've made it several times and it disappears as fast as I make it! Did reduce the amount of cloves and nutmeg, and increased the cinnamon slightly, but these are minor changes. It is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyCakeKnits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States