Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
What a lovely soup! I grew a lot of black beans this year, and was searching this site for a good recipe. I probably wouldn't have tried this one, because of the heavy reliance on canned products...but I happened to have grown a lot of winter squash this year, so I tried it. I wouldn't ever have thought of the combination, and it's very good. I'll bet it's even better with pumpkin. I did add cumin and coriander. I'll be sure to grow more black beans and some pumpkin next year, and eat this soup all through the late fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I loved this but had to add a bit of New Mexico's Hatch Green Chilies to spice it up a bit. I also added a dash of Louisiana Hot Sauce. I pressure cooked the beans and had wonderful ham to add. I also added lots of cut up tomatoes from my freezer as I had a bumper crop of tomatoes last year. Good hearty, THICK and filling soup. Great for watching weight. Omit the ham for a vegan treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ysidro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This soup is delicious! Skipped the onion. Used a can of "black beans with chiles and lime" along with 2 cans regular beans. The jalapeno gave it just the right amount of kick. This is a new house favorite, look forward to making again and again. Oh, and I did not add the salt, this soup was salty enough without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was excellent! The pumpkin is very subtle, but good. I added cider vinegar because I didn't have sherry vinegar and it was very good. I ate for lunch for two days in row after and it is very good as leftovers. Great for my low calorie high fiber diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very good, I suppose I expected a more stand alone soup, but it was still good. I made chicken and yellow rice to accompany it. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
at first i rated it 3 stars b/c you know everyone else liked it so much... but i couldn't even finish it - i dumped the leftovers - therefore it's a two star... but i would be willing to try it again if i made a few variations - for one - i'd use brown beans and more pumpkin b/c i couldn't even taste the pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was pretty tasty! I left out the sherry vinegar and added one tablespoon of salsa per serving... and I will surely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
DH and I fought over the leftovers! Used diced tomatoes w/basil,garlic oregano. Also used cider vinegar instead of sherry. Left the ham out completely. Swirled with plain yogurt or sour cream, both yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Very tasty! I couldn't taste the pumpkin, but that's fine with me because I was really just looking for a way to sneak vegetables to my veggie-hating husband. I used balsamic vinegar instead of sherry vinegar and turkey ham instead of regular, but I doubt that changed the taste much. There was a lot of ham for my tastes, but my husband loves ham, so it was perfect for him. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
It was ok. I liked that it was healthy but I almost gave only 3 stars. It just tastes like something is missing. I added extra salt and even a little cayenne to try and get some flavor. In the end it was the sour cream that saved it enough to get up to 4 stars. Not sure if we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States