Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup was a big hit with my kids! I gave this 4 stars because I agreed with many of the other reviewers that it needed a little something extra to keep it from being bland. I pureed just 1 can of the beans (adding some of the broth and juice from the tomatoes to allow it to puree) with 2 cans of beans and the tomatoes kept whole. It was plenty thick this way - just right! I also added the corn suggested by others, along with cumin, some ancho chili powder, a dash of cayenne and a healthy dose of dried cilantro. I also skipped the ham since I didn't think it would need it and wanted to keep it a little healthier (used low sodium beef broth too). That sounds like a lot, but the base recipe is a really good start, a good canvas to add your personal touches to. My kids can't wait to make this again - a definite ringing endorsement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Like many people, I changed a few things. The idea of pumpkin and black beans was intriguing. I changed it too much to give it a 5 star, but at the same time I have to say it is a good start. I was surprised how much my family liked it. Here is what I did and I understand I am falling into the don't rate it unless you follow it exactly category, but this recipe needs a bit extra. I added two cans of the 15 oz pumpkin to thicken b/c it has less sodium than adding 3 cans of black beans w/one pureed so I only added two cans of the black beans. I added 2 tsp of all spice (mine says Jamaican all spice, but I think they are all the same) to enhance the pumpkin flavor and I went with a dollop of cream cheese instead of the sour cream. Again, this is a great base, just play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious, nutritious & expeditious! Hubby said it was one of the best soups he has ever had. Changes made were: 1) added 1 tsp ground coriander, 1 tsp ground cumin, 0.5 tsp cayenne pepper, 6 cloves minced garlic (instead of four) 2) omitted salt & ham 3) added 1 cup frozen corn 4) only puréed 2 cans black beans ( would probably only purée one can next time). I would take this over chili any day of the week...try it, you will be very pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup was so good.....hearty & satisfying! I added corn, extra black beans, cilantro & cumin. Didn't have sherry vinegar so used red wine vinegar & some sherry. Will definitely make it again. Served it with tortilla strips & sour cream. Next time I think I'll only puree half the tomatoes so it might look prettier like the picture here. Wasn't that pretty, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Not a fan at all. I will admit I used the apple cider vinegar like some people did so I didn't have to buy sherry vinegar, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Love this recipe!! This is a very hearty soup and my kitchen smelled so good with all the spices. Great warmed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I can't say that I followed it perfectly, but I think that the cover photo should certainly be different. Not only does the soup look like mud, but it lacks texture. I recommend only blending one can of black beans, and using chunks of fresh butternut squash along with the can of pumpkin. Otherwise, the soup is a nice base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Used 1 can of Rotel tomatoes and added a few shakes of cumin and coriander. Tasted the soup before the spices, and was amazed at how the cumin and coriander additions really made the soup pop. It was a delicious soup that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I added a little hot sauce to it and substituted chorizo for ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great Soup! I added cumin as well, and a little dash of cinnimon! Great flavor! I might also just puree one can of black beans first for a little chunkier texture. I left out the Ham, but added corn. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States