Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Oh my goodness, what a spin on blackbean soup!! This is a delicious hearty soup. Pumpkin was subtle and added a heartiness along with the blackbeans. The sauteed onion and garlic really added flavor. Hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
It was great. I didn't have sherry vinegar, so used apple cider vinegar. I did add 1/4 tsp cayenne and a dash of cumin. Used chicken stock instead of beef stock. I didn't purée the tomatoes. I added a can of corn. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
So glad I tried this! It was unique and delicious. Here are my changes: first, I read the recipe wrong and only bought one can of beans. I just added them undrained and did not purée any. I imagine this made my soup less thick than what it was meant to be, but I liked it. Three cans sounds like overkill to me anyway. I'd think all you'd be able to taste was beans! Anyway my result was a thick broth. The "cover" picture shown with this recipe looks like the consistency mine had. I also did not add any salt since the canned broth, beans, and tomatoes and butter and ham are all pretty salty to begin with. I used apple cider vinegar and only two tablespoons. I thought it was lacking in depth flavor-wise so I also added two pinches of nutmeg and about half a teaspoon of ground coriander. I garnished with fresh cilantro which really brightened up the final product. Very good soup! I'm betting it'll taste even better tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews about too-strong vinegar before I added mine... They are absolutely right. Also added the 1t. Cumin and some dried chopped cilantro to try and warm up the flavor. I want to like bean soups and keep trying variations, but seem to like the idea better than the resulting tastes, so take my 3 stars as a non-bean lover...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
The recipe was good as a base. I felt it lacked something so I added chipotle chiles and little allspice to give it some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great recipe on its own, but I did take the advice of those who used apple cider vinegar rather than sherry vinegar and it was a hit. I also added cumin, which I always think adds a good flavor to black bean soups. The pumpkin gives the soups a nice sweetness, as well. Since there are only two of us, the rest of the soup is ready for the freezer for more meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickiK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
awesome soup. it's incredibly easy to make, just chop, saute, dump everything together and let it simmer. it has a nice toothsome, almost meaty taste and i think the pumpkin may be responsible for that. i added extra garlic, because we're major garlic lovers, and used only one can of beef broth because we like soup on the thick side. but no matter what you do, you can't ruin it. i took someone's advice and used coriander and cumin and i think it really enhanced the flavors. i also added an extra can of black beans for more chunk, and about a cup of heavy cream because i wanted to use it up. serve it with sour cream or plain yogurt mixed with a bit of lime juice and it's heaven. not the prettiest soup out there, but you'll be coming back for more and more. thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made it this afternoon and I found it to be quite bland actually - I did switch out the beef broth for chicken and i used pancetta instead of ham. I landed up adding a little more salt, pepper and I added 7.5ml of cumin and chilli powder. Helped a bit. I did add frozen corn - in the photo not in the recipe. Still needs something though. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierrefonds, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was such an easy recipe and yet so good. I added some ancho chili powder and chipotle hot sauce to give it some spice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Frankensoup: As Hurricane/Cyclone/Superstorm Sandy swooped upon us, I served this soup to great acclaim. Suggested changes I included were: 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp cayenne, 1 bay leaf, chicken broth instead of beef broth, left out ham, apple cider vinegar instead of sherry vinegar, and don't forget a can of crispy corn.The dollop of sour cream is wonderful, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States