Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
One word - Amazing!!! Normally I'm not a huge fan of soup, but my husband loves it. It's getting chilly out so I thought I'd give it a try with our sandwiches the other night. Oh, my goodness - so GOOD!! Even my kids ate it and loved it! Thanks to this recipe, I've been officially converted to a soup eater. In my opinion, you HAVE to add the ham or the soup would miss the mark. I thought that it would throw the flavor off, but I was very wrong. It came out perfect. I used rice vinegar and added a just a dash of cumino. We had leftovers so I brought it to friends and family - everyone asked for the recipe. This soup is even better as leftovers. Definitely will be keeping this recipe. Awesome, thanks for sharing. It's my new favorite go to for chilly fall days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Subtle flavor, great fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family is in love with this soup! It reminds me of an expensive soup at a nice restaurant. We'll be having this at least once a month during these cold months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
So delicious!! I followed others' advice and added about 3/4 teaspoon of ground cumin, which helped give it depth. Also put in a generous sprinkle of red pepper flake for some heat. I only had apple cider vinegar on hand, and used 2 T instead of 3. Served with a little sour cream on top, and it was wonderful! I liked the ham in it- made it hearty and filling, but I'm sure it would still be good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Had a half a can of pumpkin left over after making a pumpkin streusel cheesecake and received this recipe via email. Didn't have any ham and used spicy Italian sausage. It was good, even my fussy husband liked it. It's going into my recipe box! My first review. I love good food but very busy, so when I cook I want it to be rather quick but tasty. This will make my soup of he week list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My husband really liked this soup, and I think I will make it again, just with less vinegar and more non-blended black beans. With the 3 T of vinegar, that is all I tasted for rest of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe! Linnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I added a pound of cooked chipotle-seasoned pork sausage from HEB and several tablespoons of ground cumin along with a can of tomatoes and green chiles. Really good with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
this was a great soup but, I eliminated the ham and used red wine vinegar instead. I also added dried cilantro and ground rosemary and anise. Next time I will add kale from my garden. I made the 9 cup recipe and it was gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Amazing! Great flavor and so way to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States