Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Oh my goodness, this soup was amazing! I did add and change a few things, however. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, I used fresh cilantro, chives, red and yellow peppers and included 5 stalks of green onion and left out the ham. I pureed the entire soup and topped it with some slices of avocado. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I put in a can of Rotel tomatoes with chilis and it really added an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
When I told the family what was for dinner - you should have seen the skeptical looks..... then they ate, and they ate, and they ate. I agree with comment that is also very good reheated the next day. For my crowd I substituted cut up smoked sausage in lieu of ham because that is what I had, and the smokey added flavor was fabulous. I highly recommend this one..... very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I am shocked at the ratings for this recipe. It tasted like weak beef gravy. There were very little solids in the soup. It needed much embellishment to get it to taste like anything. I don't think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious flavor combination. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
LOVED IT! I used fresh pumpkin puree and omitted the sherry vinegar altogether. I also used bacon instead of ham. Cooking the bacon in the very beginning and keeping some of the fat to cook the onions and garlic. It is freaking amazing! Even got my overly critical mother to say it was great and one of a kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yuk. I think it probably needs chicken broth instead of beef broth. Very weird combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly S George

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
DELICIOUS! Corn is not in the list of ingredients but I saw it in the picture so I added it in. My husband HATES pumpkin! Loves to grow them. hate to eat it. He even liked this soup! You cannot taste the pumpkin in it. We had it as one of our pre-Thanksgiving meals. We raise turkeys and had lots of people picking up their turkey and trying this soup. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Love this soup...and so good for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I'm giving it an extra star for the benefit of the doubt, because I had to make this vegetarian (so veggie broth and no ham)....but it was really bland. Definitely add your own seasonings. I did like that it was a savory pumpkin soup that didn't make use of the usual pumpkin seasonings (nutmeg, etc.) and I've been inspired to try adding pumpkin next time I make chili, so I appreciate that! But I won't make this again. Thanks anyway, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States