Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
When I told the family what was for dinner - you should have seen the skeptical looks..... then they ate, and they ate, and they ate. I agree with comment that is also very good reheated the next day. For my crowd I substituted cut up smoked sausage in lieu of ham because that is what I had, and the smokey added flavor was fabulous. I highly recommend this one..... very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I am shocked at the ratings for this recipe. It tasted like weak beef gravy. There were very little solids in the soup. It needed much embellishment to get it to taste like anything. I don't think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious flavor combination. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
LOVED IT! I used fresh pumpkin puree and omitted the sherry vinegar altogether. I also used bacon instead of ham. Cooking the bacon in the very beginning and keeping some of the fat to cook the onions and garlic. It is freaking amazing! Even got my overly critical mother to say it was great and one of a kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Yuk. I think it probably needs chicken broth instead of beef broth. Very weird combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
DELICIOUS! Corn is not in the list of ingredients but I saw it in the picture so I added it in. My husband HATES pumpkin! Loves to grow them. hate to eat it. He even liked this soup! You cannot taste the pumpkin in it. We had it as one of our pre-Thanksgiving meals. We raise turkeys and had lots of people picking up their turkey and trying this soup. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Love this soup...and so good for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I'm giving it an extra star for the benefit of the doubt, because I had to make this vegetarian (so veggie broth and no ham)....but it was really bland. Definitely add your own seasonings. I did like that it was a savory pumpkin soup that didn't make use of the usual pumpkin seasonings (nutmeg, etc.) and I've been inspired to try adding pumpkin next time I make chili, so I appreciate that! But I won't make this again. Thanks anyway, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I love it, but I omit ham and use half the broth amount. I rarely use cooking sherry instead i Use 1 tbsp red wine vinegar and 2 tbsp of pure balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
One word - Amazing!!! Normally I'm not a huge fan of soup, but my husband loves it. It's getting chilly out so I thought I'd give it a try with our sandwiches the other night. Oh, my goodness - so GOOD!! Even my kids ate it and loved it! Thanks to this recipe, I've been officially converted to a soup eater. In my opinion, you HAVE to add the ham or the soup would miss the mark. I thought that it would throw the flavor off, but I was very wrong. It came out perfect. I used rice vinegar and added a just a dash of cumino. We had leftovers so I brought it to friends and family - everyone asked for the recipe. This soup is even better as leftovers. Definitely will be keeping this recipe. Awesome, thanks for sharing. It's my new favorite go to for chilly fall days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States