Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I'd really give this 4 and 1/2 stars with my modifications. My husband LOVED this soup!! I used pink beans and chicken broth instead of the black beans and beef broth in the original recipe. Also added more seasoning ( about 3/4 teaspoon Nature's Seasoning---made of mixed spices) and about a teaspoon of Arizona Dreaming, another mixed spice with a southwestern spice taste). Didn't have sherry vinegar so used wine vinegar, like other reviewers. Also omitted the ham, as I didn't want to add the sodium. Definitely will make this soup again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Followed the recipe as written the best I could while being vegetarian. Vegetable broth instead of beef, and no ham. EXCELLENT!! Thank you for submitting such a great recipe with healthy ingredients. Easy to use home grown veggies instead too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Very nice mild full flavour. As former owners of pet pot belly pigs,we no longer eat pork so we left out the ham. I will be making this again and putting it our recipe book. Wayne & Muffy Nakusp, British Columbia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne & Muffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaslo, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Nakusp, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This soup was awesome! So easy to make and very filling. I didn't have any black beans, so I used one can of kidney beans and a 30 oz. can of pintos. I pureed the kidney beans but kept all of the pintos whole. I also added 1 t. ground cumin and left out the salt. Oh, and I added a few dashes of cayenne. So yummy! I can't wait to eat leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This soup was delicious and perfect for a cold, winter's night. I did make a few changes, just based on what my family prefers. I cut the onion down significantly, only using about 1/4 cup diced (since I added everything to my slow cooker, I was able to skip the butter part:). I also didn't use the ham at all, used vegetable broth, and added corn, making this a vegetarian meal. I made this really easy on myself, putting everything in my crock pot and cooking it on low for about 6 hours. Everyone really loved it and I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! The more you let it sit after making it the thickness slowly develops into this tasty soup with a hint of "something" that people would never guess its the pumpkin. Also, I didn't use sherry wine but instead I used a 1 tsp of rice vinegar and it came out just fine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I was excited to try this but it did not work for me. I found it too be earthy and bland. I even added cumin, coriander and tomatoes with chile peppers as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
The outcome is not the colour of the 4th photo... :( For a more accurate view of the dish, refer to the other 3 photos instead. You will notice that the colour isn't very appealing. However, the taste is actually not bad at all - that explains the 4 star. the 5th star was taken away by the strange colour. Also, 1/2 pound of ham is not enough for flavour, we used 1 pound instead. We omitted the sherry vinegar as well as we didn't have it. Finally, we thickened it with flour as it was a little too watery after it was done. Next time, I would not puree the diced tomatoes and might use 2 cans of pumpkin puree to thicken up the soup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I've made this recipe twice and am astounded by the ease and the rich flavor in short order! I used pumpkin that I grew and it just happened to taste more like buttercup squash but great in this recipe! I did make slight modifications... first time I followed recipe but used a dash of EVOO instead of butter and left out the ham. Today, again EVOO instead of butter and no ham and I didn't bother to drain the beans (makes it even richer), used extra pumpkin, onion and garlic and replaced beef broth with veggie broth. great for vegetarian or vegans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trilliumlane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Changes based on what I had on hand: Rotel in place of diced tomatoes, cider vinegar for sherry vinegar (1/2), chicken broth, and no ham. The soup was very bland so I simmered it down for *2 hours* and it came out wonderful. Will definitely use the Rotel again - gave it a nice kick. Update: giving this recipe 5 stars because it became so addictive, I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States