Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Good start as a base that needs zapping up, so I only gave a 4. I used three cans of black beans and 2 cans of pumpkin. Used chicken stock and only 2 cups, at that. Instead of tomatoes, I used about 1/2 cup of Rogan Josh sauce by Pataks and about a teaspoon of Slap yo Mama seasoning and a quarter cup of sherry (not cooking sherry!). I had no ham, so added a few slices of thick cut bacon while it cooked and removed them before serving and chopped some fresh celantro to sprinkle on top. The soup was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe is amazing! The sherry vinegar really seals the deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very healthy and tasty. I used chicken broth (didn't have beef broth) and omitted the ham. Also, I would use a little less onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Incredible soup! Easy to make and works well with butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieReb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love his soup. I made a few additions. I sauteed a combination of onions, celery and green pepper instead of just onions. I left them a bit al dente. I added cumin, and a sliced jalapeno. Also added some fresh corn that I put in at the end. SO GOOD! Next time I am going to do pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Good hearty soup, I omitted the ham and used only 2 cans of beans. I also added cumin and bit of chili spice. It was good, I wish it was better but I'll work on it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I liked this soup. I added sweet corn and used bacon instead of ham. Used cider vinegar because that was all I had. I thought the vinegar taste was a little strong, I may add less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I did not puree the beans and I used fresh instead of canned. Soup needs to sit a day for the flavors to blend. Nice filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This soup was hearty and filling but does need some herbs to liven it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I double the ham and onions and added the ham at the beginning. As a result, I definitely tasted the ham unlike some others - like a black bean ham and beans! Added some cumin and slap your mama spice for a bit more flavor! I thought it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States