Pumpkin Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it just as ordered. Very good and not too pumpkin-ey for those who are averse to pumpkin-stuff. Will make again! Oh, btw, does not look like the photo. If they used a photo of actual soup no one would be enticed to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup was a big hit with my kids! I gave this 4 stars because I agreed with many of the other reviewers that it needed a little something extra to keep it from being bland. I pureed just 1 can of the beans (adding some of the broth and juice from the tomatoes to allow it to puree) with 2 cans of beans and the tomatoes kept whole. It was plenty thick this way - just right! I also added the corn suggested by others, along with cumin, some ancho chili powder, a dash of cayenne and a healthy dose of dried cilantro. I also skipped the ham since I didn't think it would need it and wanted to keep it a little healthier (used low sodium beef broth too). That sounds like a lot, but the base recipe is a really good start, a good canvas to add your personal touches to. My kids can't wait to make this again - a definite ringing endorsement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Like many people, I changed a few things. The idea of pumpkin and black beans was intriguing. I changed it too much to give it a 5 star, but at the same time I have to say it is a good start. I was surprised how much my family liked it. Here is what I did and I understand I am falling into the don't rate it unless you follow it exactly category, but this recipe needs a bit extra. I added two cans of the 15 oz pumpkin to thicken b/c it has less sodium than adding 3 cans of black beans w/one pureed so I only added two cans of the black beans. I added 2 tsp of all spice (mine says Jamaican all spice, but I think they are all the same) to enhance the pumpkin flavor and I went with a dollop of cream cheese instead of the sour cream. Again, this is a great base, just play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious, nutritious & expeditious! Hubby said it was one of the best soups he has ever had. Changes made were: 1) added 1 tsp ground coriander, 1 tsp ground cumin, 0.5 tsp cayenne pepper, 6 cloves minced garlic (instead of four) 2) omitted salt & ham 3) added 1 cup frozen corn 4) only puréed 2 cans black beans ( would probably only purée one can next time). I would take this over chili any day of the week...try it, you will be very pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup was so good.....hearty & satisfying! I added corn, extra black beans, cilantro & cumin. Didn't have sherry vinegar so used red wine vinegar & some sherry. Will definitely make it again. Served it with tortilla strips & sour cream. Next time I think I'll only puree half the tomatoes so it might look prettier like the picture here. Wasn't that pretty, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Not a fan at all. I will admit I used the apple cider vinegar like some people did so I didn't have to buy sherry vinegar, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Love this recipe!! This is a very hearty soup and my kitchen smelled so good with all the spices. Great warmed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I can't say that I followed it perfectly, but I think that the cover photo should certainly be different. Not only does the soup look like mud, but it lacks texture. I recommend only blending one can of black beans, and using chunks of fresh butternut squash along with the can of pumpkin. Otherwise, the soup is a nice base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Used 1 can of Rotel tomatoes and added a few shakes of cumin and coriander. Tasted the soup before the spices, and was amazed at how the cumin and coriander additions really made the soup pop. It was a delicious soup that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I added a little hot sauce to it and substituted chorizo for ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States