Pumpkin Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Mmmm... these were excellent. I found that the serving amounts were quite incorrect, however. For "36" servings, you might be lucky to get out 5 biscuits in reality. So make tons! These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Oh my!! These are burning my mouth as I eat them fresh from the oven. They are unbelievable. Sooooo good. They were perfect to roll out and rose wonderfully. I used fresh pureed pupmkin, and I might suggest that if you're using canned, draining it first (w/ a cheesecloth lined strainer) might help with the sticky results problem. Oh! And mine needed 15 minutes tops in a 400 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
If this is your first time making biscuits, don't try this recipe. But, if you know what biscuit dough is supposed to feel like, by all means, make these yummy biscuits! Just keep adding flour until the consistency feels right. Wow! I added extra spices (maybe double the amounts), and they came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
made these last night super good but add extra brown sugar also to make them a little bit sweeter when they are almost done take then out brush them with melted butter then add brown sugar on top then pop them back into the over to finish cooking it carmalizes on top they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I made these for a late afternoon snack today, and they were simply amazing. They are light and fluffy, and eaten right out of the oven, they don't need any additional butter, honey, or other flavors added. I thought the spice amounts were just perfect; they enhanced the pumpkin flavors without overwhelming them. I do have to say; however, that I can't see how anybody could possibly get 36 biscuits out of this recipe and still have any height to them. I was able to get exactly 18 out of a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Very good. Everybody at my Thanksgiving get together said it was warm and moist and really excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I doubled the cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg, and used sea salt instead of table salt. Deliciously wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These were definitly different but really good. They were somewhat bland but I think maybe doubling the spices would help with that. My family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Fabulous if you make the following changes: increase spices: 1 tbsp ground cinnamon, 1 tsp ground nutmeg, 1 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Added 1 tsp baking soda, upped the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Combined 2/3 cup milk with 1 tsp vinegar and whisked with 1 and 1/2 cups of pumpkin puree. Dropped 8 to 10 biscuits on parchment paper and baked for 17 minutes. Oddly great with a thai pumpkin soup (nice mix of sweet and savoury).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I really liked these biscuits with butter and rasberry jam. Delicious. They are a bit bland if you want them to eat alone I would add more brown sugar and spices. The texture is different from a traditional biscuit, so I didn't roll out. I used an ice cream scoop and it worked to make great drop biscuits. I also used 2 cups self-rising flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour and eliminated the baking powder. I also ended up adding a little milk to make my batter the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States