Pumpkin Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The basic idea was good, but I think the measurments are off. I had to add almost double the flour to even make the dough workable. I definitly added more spices and a little more brown sugar too in order to get a good taste to it. The amount is off too, I got maybe 1/2 of what it said it would make. But all in all after I made adjustments they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
They were really good but still needed a little more flavor. Next time maybe some more brown sugar and cinnamon. I mixed up some butter and maple syrup (oops no honey...) and that made them wonderful snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Jacobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were tasty, but small. The texture wasn't quite what I hoped for. They didn't rise much and weren't fluffy or flaky like I imagine biscuits to be. I might make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These were definitly different but really good. They were somewhat bland but I think maybe doubling the spices would help with that. My family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Make sure you oil your hands and have lots of flour on hand before handling - very gooy (I used fresh pureed pumpkin). It took longer to bake but was very good fresh out of the oven. Once they cooled off the texture was little doughy. Would be great with a hot soup on a cool day fresh out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This sounds like it would be wonderful, but they don't come out very well. The taste is okay, but the texture isn't so great. Maybe with some modifications it would be better...I don't know if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Oh my!! These are burning my mouth as I eat them fresh from the oven. They are unbelievable. Sooooo good. They were perfect to roll out and rose wonderfully. I used fresh pureed pupmkin, and I might suggest that if you're using canned, draining it first (w/ a cheesecloth lined strainer) might help with the sticky results problem. Oh! And mine needed 15 minutes tops in a 400 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I thought that it works. Maybe not the best recipe. I made honey-butter for the bescuits and it helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
maybe I did something wrong, but these were unedible. I like the idea of pumpkin biscuits, but this wasn't it. When the recipe stated to pat the dough down I should have had a feeling these were going to flop. They were very gooey and sticky (one could not use a rolling pin) I should have added more flour. I even had to increase the baking time as they were raw and doughy in the center at first. They never did cook right. And they stayed flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Mmmm... these were excellent. I found that the serving amounts were quite incorrect, however. For "36" servings, you might be lucky to get out 5 biscuits in reality. So make tons! These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States